Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello everyone. This is my first time on this forum as I am new to Linux. I am taking a class currently at college as I am working toward my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Driver Help

Hello everyone. This is my first time on this forum as I am new to Linux. I am taking a class currently at college as I am working toward my computer networking degree. I have installed Fedora Core 7 and do not have Internet access to my computer. So I bought a wireless adapter, Netgear- rangemax wireless usb 2.0 adapter, WPN111. The only driver that came with it is for Windows, of course and I was wondering if any new a driver that would be compatible with this device? Or is there a way to convert a DOS/Windows executable driver( the one that I currently have) to a format the I could use with Fedora?

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

Check this thread for installing ndiswrapper to get your wireless working.

Let us know how it goes.
    oz

Just Joined!
    Ok. not so good yet. I downloaded the file: ndiswrapper-1.51-15.fc7.i386.rpm. As I double click the file, it started to install packages. I click apply to install, it retrieves software information and starts to resolve dependencies and then returns an error resolving dependencies. In the details, it says: Missing Dependency: ndiswrapper-kmdl-1.51-15.fc7 is needed by package ndiswrapper. So I entered terminal and logged on as root and tried to run the command ndiswrapper -i /tmp/autorun.inf, since I copy the autorun.inf file to the /tmp folder on filesystem. I believe that I have the commands correct but am not positive. I also tried the command yum -y install ndiswrapper (cause I found it on the Internet, but don't know what this command does. Thought I would try it) The response was:

Loading :installonlyn" plugin