Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I apologize if this question has been asked. I did a search but didn't find what I was looking for. I have an older system that I'm putting Fedora 8 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9

    Fedora 8 installation not seeing my 2nd harddrive


    I apologize if this question has been asked. I did a search but didn't find what I was looking for.

    I have an older system that I'm putting Fedora 8 on. It has two 80G IDE HD's. The hardware configuration is that I have one as master on the first IDE bus, and the DVD ROM drive is the slave. Then on the second IDE bus, I have the 2nd HD as the master.

    When I'm installing Fedora 8 via the Live CD, the first drive is detected, but not the second drive. Everything went fine with the install, except the 2nd drive was never used.

    Is there something I should do to make the install recognize the 2nd drive? Or maybe after the install is completed I can format the 2nd drive and mount it?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Boot up from Fedora LiveCD and open Terminal/Konsole. Execute this
    Code:
    su -
    fdisk -l
    Does it list both HDs? Post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9
    Thank you for your help.

    Here it is... I already installed Fedora 8.

    Looks like it sees a /dev/sdb, that must be the 2nd drive. But I don't understand all that logical volume stuff. When I do a df -k, I don't see the 80G from the second drive being available.

    When I played around with lvm, it only showed VolGroup00 with 80G, I don't see the 2nd drive.

    ----------------- from fdisk -l ---------------------

    Disk /dev/sda: 82.3 GB, 82348277760 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 10011 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x28c86344

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 25 200781 83 Linux
    /dev/sda2 26 10011 80212545 8e Linux LVM

    Disk /dev/sdb: 82.3 GB, 82348277760 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 10011 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x28c86344

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 * 1 25 200781 83 Linux
    /dev/sdb2 26 10011 80212545 8e Linux LVM

    Disk /dev/dm-0: 82.3 GB, 82347229184 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 10011 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x28c86344

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/dm-0p1 * 1 25 200781 83 Linux
    /dev/dm-0p2 26 10011 80212545 8e Linux LVM

    Disk /dev/dm-1: 205 MB, 205599744 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000

    Disk /dev/dm-1 doesn't contain a valid partition table

    Disk /dev/dm-2: 82.1 GB, 82137646080 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9986 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000

    Disk /dev/dm-2 doesn't contain a valid partition table

    Disk /dev/dm-3: 81.5 GB, 81537269760 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000

    Disk /dev/dm-3 doesn't contain a valid partition table

    Disk /dev/dm-4: 536 MB, 536870912 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 65 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x30307800

    Disk /dev/dm-4 doesn't contain a valid partition table

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    sdb is second disk and you have to mount its vlomues.
    Execute this
    Code:
    su -
    vgscan
    vgchange -ay
    It will list all volumes and set those active. Mount all volumes of second disk using mount command or post output of both commands here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9
    Here's the output

    [root@construct ~]# vgscan
    Reading all physical volumes. This may take a while...
    Found volume group "VolGroup00" using metadata type lvm2

    [root@construct ~]# vgchange -ay
    2 logical volume(s) in volume group "VolGroup00" now active

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •