Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
hi, i have set my fedora bux up as a pdc (primary domain controller) and the windoes machine does recognise it however when i try to add the xp box ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    420

    samba


    hi,

    i have set my fedora bux up as a pdc (primary domain controller) and the windoes machine does recognise it however when i try to add the xp box from my old domain to my new samba domain i comes up with the username and password box as usual but nomatter what username and password i put in i get told my username and password are incorrect any ideas or help will be very helpfull

  2. #2
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    you need to add samba passwords to your users
    ie
    Code:
    smbpasswd john
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    www.syracuse.com
    Posts
    119
    if you are not concerned with security too much. you could just make it public.

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    420
    hi thanks for the help but now i have another problem my XP box has been aded to the liux domain but when i try to logon to the new linux domain using the same user name and password i used to ad the computer to the domain it keeps coming up with wrong password or username its the same for what ever user i use trying to log on,

    thanks

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    193
    what you should do is this:

    goto /etc/passwd file

    you'll find something like this:

    root:0:0:root:/root:/sbin/bash
    bin:1:1:bin:/bin:
    daemon:2:2:daemon:/sbin:
    adm:3:3:adm:/var/adm:
    halt:4:0:halt:/sbin:/sbin/halt
    sync:5:0:sync:/sbin:/bin/sync
    shutdown:6:0:shutdown:/sbin:/sbin/shutdown
    lp:7:7:lp:/var/spool/lpd:
    operator:11:0:operator:/root:
    mail:12:12:mail:/var/spool/mail:
    news:13:13:news:/var/spool/news:
    uucp:14:14:uucp:/var/spool/uucp:
    games:20:20:games:/usr/games:
    squid:23:23:squid user:/no/dir:/bin/false
    postgres:26:26:PostgreSQL user:/var/lib/postgresql:/bin/bash
    gopher:30:30:gopher:/usr/lib/gopher-data:
    nscd:35:35:nscd user:/no/dir:/bin/false
    ntp:38:38:NTP user:/no/dir:/bin/false
    ftp:50:50:FTP User:/home/ftp:/bin/bash
    syslog:60:60:Syslog user:/no/dir:/bin/false
    named:98:98:named user:/no/dir:/bin/false
    nobody:99:99:Nobody:/:
    mysql:101:101:MySQL user:/no/dir:/bin/false
    postfix:102:102:Postfix user:/no/dir:/no/shell
    sshd:103:103:SSHD user:/no/dir:/no/shell
    mailman:105:105:Mailman user:/var/mailman:/bin/false
    fcron:108:108:Fcron user:/no/dir:/no/shell
    httpd:109:109:httpd user:/no/dir:/bin/false
    cyrus:110:110:Cyrus user:/no/dir:/bin/false
    slapd:111:111:OpenLDAP user:/no/dir:/bin/false
    tftpd:112:112:tftpd user:/tftpboot:/bin/false
    akr:500:0::/mnt:/bin/bash
    machine1$:501:100::/dev/null:/bin/false
    machine2$:502:100::/dev/null:/bin/false
    machine3$:503:100::/dev/null:/bin/false
    as you can see i have three machines from 1 to 3. Above machine1 you can see "akr" that's a user. Every user you add with 'adduser user'
    you get a new row.
    When you add a computer then 'adduser machine4'

    When you used it, then goto your passwd file and at a $ sign after the computername. This should help you out.

    If not give me your smb.conf file thru private message or thru forum. And i will watch at it for you
    Computers Are Like Air Conditioners... They\'re both useless with Windows open!

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Sarajevo
    Posts
    15
    as far as i know you have to create a samba user with:
    smbpasswd -a username

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    193
    true, but somethings you need it to add it to your domain.

    If it doesn't work, you can blame me for it
    Computers Are Like Air Conditioners... They\'re both useless with Windows open!

  8. #8
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    hey guest, think about becoming a member! Also give us an update on how this is going.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Hull - England
    Posts
    32
    hi all thanks for the help and by the way i am a member! i siagned up and this week i had to resign up with the same username dont know why, i was coming along nicley thanks i have managed to add windows 98, me, 2000 and nt4 to the domain but still having probs with xp pro, although my network is a real mess at the moment but i am curently backing all the data on my server up to make the switch from win 2k3 as soon as possable but i dont know wich distro to go on my sever, on my test server i was using RH9 but im not sure wether to stay with RH9 use fedora but i am also thinking of going with freebsd! i know BSD is not linux but to me its very similar and although linux is very stable when you look at the web server uptime stats most of the top 50 servers wich have been up for 5 years without any downtime they are mostly BSD's. i have got my head around everything els i want to do on the sever with red hat so when my server is fully backed up i will be making the switch but can you please tell me which you think i will be better of with? (RH9/FEDORA or FREEBSD)

    i will be greatful for any suggestions thanks

  10. #10
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    Good to see you register, the double register might have been b/c of the site move, J is moving the whole thing over to the US, so if you had tried to register dircetly before or after or summin, then that might have coused a problem.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •