Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I just installed Fedora 8 today, I'm somewhat new to Linux (I have played around with it before, in older versions of Red Hat however.) so forgive me ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing pidgin-guifications problem

Hi all,

I just installed Fedora 8 today, I'm somewhat new to Linux (I have played around with it before, in older versions of Red Hat however.) so forgive me if this is a dumb question.

I'm trying to install a plugin for Pidgin (called pidgin-guifications, from: Pidgin Plugins - Trac), but it needs "building" and I'm not totally sure how to do this.

I ran the config file (by double clicking it), but I don't know how to "make" the installation (or infact how to run the config file through the terminal, which would help)..

I am familiar with the su command (so I understood the last part of the install-readme), but I need a complete step by step guide to install it..

Once I've been told how to install this, I should have no problems with other programs that need "building"..

my home directory is: /home/Aaron
    and the tar.gz is in: /home/Aaron/Desktop
    (I can unzip this either with the terminal or through GNOME) giving: /home/Aaron/Desktop/pidgin-guifications-2.16

Regards,
    Aaron.

Just Joined!
    Okay, I worked out how to run the configure script from the terminal (./configure - can someone please tell me why there's the ./, rather than just typing configure. EDIT: I just read it's because Linux doesn't look in the current directory for executables - Why is this?).

It gave me an error message saying an XML Parser for Perl was missing. So I googled and installed this. Ran configure again and got this error message:

checking for PIDGIN... configure: error: Package requirements (pidgin purple) were not met:

No package 'pidgin' found
    No package 'purple' found