Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
friends i have installed webmin software for my fc6 machine, but after completion of the installation its telling that u can log in as root with your root password to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9

    Question Webmin Installing problem


    friends i have installed webmin software for my fc6 machine, but after completion of the installation its telling that u can log in as root with your root password to this link an it give me this link https://mylinux.domain:10000/

    Here mylinux is my hostname and domain is my domain name.

    but iam unable to log in from this address with my mozilla browser, is there i have to start or stop any service to open this link,

    Please Help me friend.
    Thanks in Advance.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    67
    have you tried changing the password by using changepass.pl ??

    use

    /usr/libexec/webmin/changepass.pl /etc/webmin USERNAME NEW_PASSWORD

  3. #3
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    If you are trying to login from another system, make sure that the firewall on the machine where webmin is installed, has been configured to allow connections to port 10000.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9
    blade can u please mention the syntax,

    iam not able to understand that path, and what to change in it.

    Please specify me the syntax to do so,

    remember iam not opening the link from other system.


    Thanks

  5. #5
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    If you cannot access the link from the other system have you tried what I suggeted?

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9
    yes i have tried iam not able to access the link from other systems

  7. #7
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Do you see the webmin login screen or do you get some sort of error message in the browser? Can you run webmin from the local machine where its installed? Post back any error messages.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    67
    Hi

    u would have webmin installed in some directory.. find changepass.pl

    in that directory where changepass.pl is present..

    run the following...

    ./changepass.pl /etc/webmin user_you_created password_u_want_to_set

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9
    no Drakchild, iam not able to connect to the webmin from the local machine too. its just saying that the address cannot be found

  10. #10
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    522
    See if you can connect using IP address of the machine on which you installed webmin.
    Code:
    https://x.x.x.x:10000
    Edit:

    Also, if you are using older version of webmin, then try http instead of https.
    Code:
    http://x.x.x.x:10000
    in the example, replace Xs with real IP address.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •