Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hey guys.. some one help me!! I'm unable to set my screen resolution! I have a packardbell laptop (E3250)with S3 Prosavage DDR KN266 with S3 Prosavage graphics (32MB shared memory) ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    69

    S3 Prosavage DDR (KN 266)for LINUX Red Hat 9.0


    Hey guys..
    some one help me!! I'm unable to set my screen resolution! I have a packardbell laptop (E3250)with S3 Prosavage DDR KN266 with S3 Prosavage graphics (32MB shared memory) with a generic laptop flatpanel 1024x768. And I dont have the exact drivers on the list!!
    I'll be happy to recieve a reply to neusun001@yahoo.com

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    go to /etc/X11/XF86config open it with a viewer and then go to section monitor and change the resolution from there...
    Linux For Ever!

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    69

    thank u .. but thats not my problem

    Perhaps I dint state it clearly, S3 Prosavage DDR KN 266 is not listed on the available graphics cards in the display option on RED HAT 9.0.. also I couldnt find it online!! Please help me with the Drivers , or else suggest me an alternative setting ,where upon I can view as clearly as in Win XP

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    why don't you try to set it as vesa graphics card?it may works...
    Linux For Ever!

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    24
    I had the same problem and I never fixed it... I just changed the video card to my old GFORCE 4 MX 420... BTW, I don't have a laptop... Just a standard PC.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    69
    thanks for the suggestions .. however i tried probos drivers.. they too are not good enough!! probably i have to wait for a newer version of Linux!

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1

    I was hating Window

    I was always hating window. But now I love it tooooo much.
    I am trying to set up my video card S3 ProSavageDDR on RedHat 9.0 already 4 weeks. Can any one tell me should I have 20 years experience with Linux to start learning it?!!!! I just want to start working on Linux. Is it big problem for Linux developer to make it easier to install the hardware (not exactly like windows) but at least easier than it now. I am searching all over the internet; I downloaded thousands of files, drivers and printed hundreds of documents and reinstalled the redhad hundreds of time What's UP with you??!!! You will never defeat windows in such measly work

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    69

    PROBLEM SOLVED!!

    If you have VIA KN 266 and S3 prosavage DDR, you are not doomed.
    One simple thing can solve the problem. I know, you wont get a proper screen even to install FC or RH in graphics mode. So do this,
    1. intsall FC/RH in text only mode.
    2. now restart ur computer and connect a CRT monitor (presumed urs is a laptop), u can now see the screen..
    3. adjust the screen to "Generic LCD' of your resolution

    problem solved!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •