Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
In Redhat 9.0.I use : mount -t vfat /dev/hda1 /mnt/window After that, It seems that C sector has been destoryed and can't use Win 2000 any more. I use Win2000 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1

    Strange : when using "mount"


    In Redhat 9.0.I use :
    mount -t vfat /dev/hda1 /mnt/window
    After that, It seems that C sector has been destoryed and can't use Win 2000 any more.
    I use Win2000 disc to restart, but it can't recognize the format of C sector. And Win2000 can't be boot from Hard Disk.
    I installed Redhat9.0 from HDD, under win2000 system. So, win2000 is in C:, and Redhat9.0 is in I : . They are in different sector.
    When I installed Redhat, I chose " GRUB" , and then chose "Fist sector" , not " MBR" .
    After the installation, every time I boot from harddisk, it always entered win2000. There were no choices for "win2000" or " Redhat" for me to choose. If I want to enter the Redhat system, I entered DOS first, then runned a file(yd.bat) ( This method is got from a chinese forum) . Then, I entered Redhat.
    So, I think maybe there are something wrong when I installed Redhat. Maybe it's the problem of MBR or something else(But I don't know) .So, after mounting, this affected my 2000 system.

    Besides, is the argument "-t vfat" right? is it suitable for win2000(FAT32)? or it can only be used for WinXP and Win9x?

    I don't know what to do to solve this problem.

    Why the command "mount -t vfat /dev/hda1 /mnt/window " has so much power to destroy my system?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817
    Other readers, please correct me if I miss something here.

    I'm not familiar with Win2000, but I've worked with NT, 98 and 95. I think in all cases, Windows cannot recognize anything Linux. I don't know if it is possible to boot Linux from a Windows bootloader. There is no problem booting Windows from Grub. On startup, the BIOS will be looking on the MBR of the boot drive, so you need to setup Grub on the MBR and not on the first sector of your Linux partition. Grub.conf should be written to "chainload" Windows. This is delicate work if you want to avoid having to reinstall either or both of your OS's, so do your homework first.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9
    Hello,

    Please check the link below..

    http://apacheworld.org/modmono/INSTALL

    And this link may give you some informations regarding the 500 Error. It is not that much important, but it will not hurt studying about different types of error messages.

    http://www.checkupdown.com/status/E500.html


  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9

    Check this link

    Hello,

    Please check the link below..

    http://apacheworld.org/modmono/INSTALL

    And this link may give you some informations regarding the 500 Error. It is not that much important, but it will not hurt studying about different types of error messages.

    http://www.checkupdown.com/status/E500.html


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •