Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I used the reboot command while some programs were running and now when I run them it says the port is already in use and the programs wont load, I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    8

    Ports stay open after reboot x.x


    I used the reboot command while some programs were running and now when I run them it says the port is already in use and the programs wont load, I have tried reboot and reboot -i

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Plymouth, England
    Posts
    9
    try disableing the hardware, then turning your comp off then on (thats not a reboot)

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Plymouth, England
    Posts
    9
    oh yeh and then activate the hardware

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    8
    didn't work, i used plain reboot is there an extension or something i should use?

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Houston Texas
    Posts
    192
    what program do you want to run, and what are running on your machine. Unsually most use ports are signed to specific program purpose. use netstat -lnp to see that's running and which process has been occupying the port.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    It might be helpful if the original poster could clarify if he is refering to TCP ports or physical PC ports such as Seiral (sp?), Parellel ports etc.

    Jason

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •