Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I have a notebook with integrated video SIS M671, 256MB shared. In any distribution, not the resolution of standard video which is 1280x800. The most that could hitherto was 1280x768 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4

    RedHat or Fedora - problems with low resolution


    I have a notebook with integrated video SIS M671, 256MB shared. In any distribution, not the resolution of standard video which is 1280x800. The most that could hitherto was 1280x768 and what is working now in RedHat.

    Someone suggests a solution?

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie tiersen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Tokyo,Japan
    Posts
    226
    Hi.
    Plz as root run
    Code:
    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    and post the output
    "If we lived in a world where the better technology won out, then no doubt everybody and their aunt Fanny would be using GNU/Linux"
    Sam Varghese

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Login as root and open /etc/X11/xorg.conf file. Replace 1280x768 with 1280x800 in Modes line. Save file and press Alt+Ctrl+Backspace to restart X Server.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4

    My xorg.conf

    Hi, Below the configuration of my xorg.conf:

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
            Identifier     "single head configuration"
            Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
            InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
            InputDevice    "Synaptics" "CorePointer"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
            Identifier  "Keyboard0"
            Driver      "kbd"
            Option      "XkbModel" "abnt2"
            Option      "XkbLayout" "br"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
            Identifier  "Synaptics"
            Driver      "synaptics"
            Option      "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
            Option      "Protocol" "auto-dev"
            Option      "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    
     ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
            Identifier   "Monitor0"
            ModelName    "LCD Panel 1400x1050"
     ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
            HorizSync    31.5 - 90.0
            VertRefresh  59.0 - 75.0
            Option      "dpms"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            Identifier  "Videocard0"
            Driver      "vesa"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "Screen0"
            Device     "Videocard0"
            Monitor    "Monitor0"
            DefaultDepth     24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport   0 0
                    Depth     24
            EndSubSection
    EndSection
    In the menu "System>Preferences>Screen Resolution" show: Resolution: 1280x768 and Refresh rate: 76Hz
    In the menu "System>Administration>Display" show: Resolution: 1280x768, Color Depth: Millions of Colors, Hardware Monitor Type: LCD Panel 1280x800 and Hardware Video Card: Silicon Integrated Systems [SIS] 771/671 PCIE VGA Display Adapter (VESA)

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Add Modes line in this part :
    Code:
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "Screen0"
            Device     "Videocard0"
            Monitor    "Monitor0"
            DefaultDepth     24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport   0 0
                    Depth     24
                    Modes		"1280x800"
            EndSubSection
    EndSection
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Add Modes line in this part :
    Code:
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "Screen0"
            Device     "Videocard0"
            Monitor    "Monitor0"
            DefaultDepth     24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport   0 0
                    Depth     24
                    Modes		"1280x800"
            EndSubSection
    EndSection

    We already had tried but neither said, nor even applying ModeLines in the configuration of the monitor.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Have you tried using "sis" driver instead of "vesa"?
    Code:
    Section "Device"
            Identifier  "Videocard0"
            Driver      "sis"
    EndSection
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Have you tried using "sis" driver instead of "vesa"?
    Code:
    Section "Device"
            Identifier  "Videocard0"
            Driver      "sis"
    EndSection
    It works just as the driver VESA, the SIS does not start anything.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    1

    Known issue

    This is a known issue: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=470724
    You may register and vote for this to be fixed as I did.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •