Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hi All, I'm running RedHat 9 as a webserver. In the interest of saving time, I'd like to use apt-get for security upgrades. ( bind, apache, etc.. ) The problem ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    5

    rpm repositories


    Hi All,

    I'm running RedHat 9 as a webserver. In the interest of saving time, I'd like to use apt-get for security upgrades. ( bind, apache, etc.. )

    The problem that I'm having is that the rpm repositories ( that I've found ) only have builds of certain packages that have known security holes. Am I looking in the wrong places, or what can I do to avoid dependency hell?

    So far I've tried apt-get, yum and up2date. No luck yet.

    My sources.list file has these entries:

    rpm http://update.onlinehome-server.com redhat/9/en/i386 os updates
    rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net redhat/9/i386 freshrpms os updates

    The first is setup by my hosting provider. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    linux.duke.edu/projects/yum/ has a list of rpm repositories. Just copy them into the sources file, and try again
    -lakerdonald

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    5
    Thanks for the quick reply.

    I had found that site earlier.

    Let me give you an example of what I'm looking for. The latest release of the bind package in repositories is bind-9.2.1-16.i386.rpm. That has a date of Feb 24, 2003. There are a few updates since then, and even some of the earlier updates have been found to have security issues.

    Right now bind-9.3 is beta, but 9.2.2, 9.2.3 and 9.2.4 are considered stable ( as far as I know ) Any other ideas?

    Thanks again for the quick reply.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    go to www.rpmfind.com, and type in the package you are looking for. It will give a list of servers that have that package.
    good luck and let me know how that works for you
    -lakerdonald

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    5
    Awesome!! Thanks so much.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    no problem

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    5
    Actually, I do have one more question, Can I use the rpm's for fedora if I'm using Redhat 9? What about the ones for mandrake or connectiva?

  8. #8
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    you can use rpms for fedora.using the ones for mandrake might not work.
    -lakerdonald

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    5
    Thanks again, you've been extremely helpful

  10. #10
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    no problem. this is fun
    -lakerdonald

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •