Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hey guys so got a few questions. how do i alter my system so only a certain number of virtual consoles start when i boot the comp? also how do ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    new york
    Posts
    15

    fedora virtual consoles


    Hey guys so got a few questions.
    how do i alter my system so only a certain number of virtual consoles start when i boot the comp? also how do i change the system login message and banner?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    how do i alter my system so only a certain number of virtual consoles start when i boot the comp?
    Open /etc/inittab file and put # sign before ttys that you dont want to start.
    I have enabled only first console ( tty1 ) in my Fedora box.
    Code:
    # Run gettys in standard runlevels
    1:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty1
    #2:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty2
    #3:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty3
    #4:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty4
    #5:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty5
    #6:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty6
    also how do i change the system login message and banner?
    Try configurable Login Theme from Gnome-look.org ( If you are using GDM ) or kde-look.org ( if you are using KDM ). There could be a lot of other ways but I am not aware of those.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Some aspects of the login banner have to be configured by running gdmsetup or kcontrol -> administration -> login manager, depending on which login manager you are using.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    new york
    Posts
    15
    k cool thanks
    what about setting a user prompt so it shows the current date instead of the user id?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Edit .bashrc file in your home folder and set PS1 value to date.
    Code:
    nano ~/.bashrc
    Execute 'source .bashrc' command after editing file.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •