Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
Hi friends, on my machine I've installed Windows XP and FC5 , and I've mounted my Windows FAT partitions to Linux ( auto mount in fstab ) so that I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    37

    Red face [SOLVED] Unable to Upgrade Fedora Core 5 GRUB


    Hi friends,

    on my machine I've installed Windows XP and FC5, and I've mounted my Windows FAT partitions to Linux (auto mount in fstab) so that I can use these partitions.

    now here comes the problem: Due to virus I've to re-install XP and after XP installation GRUB disapperad, ok i thought upgrading FC will fix the problem. but when I am trying to upgrade it, it's saying that FC can not be upgraded bcaz /E_Drive(mount point for my windows drive) is not formatted and forcing me to reboot.

    now I've ubuntu 7.1 live cd and I want to know can I access my FC's file system after booting from Ubuntu live CD. if so plz plz plz plz ): tell me how to do it, caz i can't format my FC installation caz it contain some very very important data.


    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    First of all, re-install GRUB.
    Boot up Fedora Installation CD and linux rescue at boot: prompt. It will drop at shell prompt.
    Execute this
    Code:
    chroot /mnt/sysimage
    grub-install /dev/sda
    exit
    exit
    Machine will reboot and GRUB Menu will appear at startup.

    but when I am trying to upgrade it, it's saying that FC can not be upgraded bcaz /E_Drive(mount point for my windows drive) is not formatted and forcing me to reboot.
    Did you change partition structure during Windows OS installation?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    37

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    First of all, re-install GRUB.
    Boot up Fedora Installation CD and linux rescue at boot: prompt. It will drop at shell prompt.
    Execute this
    Code:
    chroot /mnt/sysimage
    grub-install /dev/sda
    exit
    exit
    Machine will reboot and GRUB Menu will appear at startup.
    Ok I'll try doing this.

    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Did you change partition structure during Windows OS installation?
    no I didn't changed the partition structure, just drive name have changed, like E dirve is now D drive, but it should not affect the prtition order, should it?

    will i be able to boot to my FC box?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    like E dirve is now D drive
    It means either you have deleted atleast one partition. Partition names should not be changed. Try to re-install GRUB and in case it doesn't work, post the contents of /boot/grub/menu.lst file and output of fdisk -l command here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    37

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    It means either you have deleted atleast one partition. Partition names should not be changed. Try to re-install GRUB and in case it doesn't work, post the contents of /boot/grub/menu.lst file and output of fdisk -l command here
    Thank you devil but your Previous solution doesn't worked for me , it give some error when I execute
    Code:
    grub-install /dev/sda
    It means either you have deleted atleast one partition. Partition names should not be changed.
    no not at all I've not deleted partition, previously D was my CD drive and E was mine Second partition, but after after re-installing windows order changed.

    output of fdisk -l command here.
    Code:
    /dev/C/C_               /                       ext3    defaults 
    1 1
    LABEL=/boot             /boot                   ext3    defaults      
    1 2
    devpts                  /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620
    0 0
    tmpfs                   /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults      
    0 0
    /dev/C/EXTRA            /extra                  ext3    defaults      
    1 2
    /dev/C/HOME             /home                   ext3    defaults      
    1 2
    proc                    /proc                   proc    defaults      
    0 0
    sysfs                   /sys                    sysfs   defaults      
    0 0
    /dev/C/LogVol01         swap                    swap    defaults      
    0 0
    /dev/sda3 		/extra/E_Drive		vfat	rw,auto,user,exec,mode=777 0 0
    and how can I post the content of of
    /boot/grub/menu.lst
    , when I can not boot to my FC installation....
    is it possible to retrieve the content of menu.lst file?

    thank for your time

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Try this now :

    Code:
    chroot /mnt/sysimage
    grub-install /dev/hda
    exit
    exit
    You have to mount root partition using any LiveCD but I think you have created LVM instead of regular ext2/3 partitions.
    In case grub-install doesn't work this time, execute fdisk -l command at that prompt. Post output here (Post first column of output only).
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    37

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    It means either you have deleted atleast one partition. Partition names should not be changed. Try to re-install GRUB and in case it doesn't work, post the contents of /boot/grub/menu.lst file and output of fdisk -l command here.
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Try this now :

    Code:
    chroot /mnt/sysimage
    grub-install /dev/hda
    exit
    exit
    You have to mount root partition using any LiveCD but I think you have created LVM instead of regular ext2/3 partitions.
    In case grub-install doesn't work this time, execute fdisk -l command at that prompt. Post output here (Post first column of output only).

    Hey it worked, I've successfully installed grub using
    Code:
    chroot /dev/sysimage 
    grub-install /dev/sda
    but it is still unable to boot to fedora, citing some file error?
    now what to do?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Post exact error message here. Post the output of fdisk -l command too.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    37

    Exclamation Fedora Boot Error MSG

    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Post exact error message here. Post the output of fdisk -l command too.

    hi devil,
    this is the exact message:

    root (hd0,3)
    Filesystem type is FAT partition type 0xC
    kernel /vnmlinuz-2.6.15-1.2054_FC5 ro root=/dev/C/C_ rhgb quite

    error 15: file not found
    and this is the output of the fdisk-l command


    device boot start end blocks id system
    /dev/sda1 * 1 3824 30716248+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2 3824 3837 104422+ 83 LINUX
    /dev/sda3 3838 7139 5 extended
    /dev/sda4 7140 9729 W95/FAT
    /dev/sda5 3838 Linux LVM
    please tell me what to do

  10. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    You are using LVM and I am not much familier with it. Its a bit tricky to manage LVMs.
    Anyways, mount /dev/sda2 partition and post the contents of /grub/grub.conf file.
    Do you know how to initialize LVM volume and mount it? We have to check contents of /etc/fstab file too.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •