Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
When I boot into my linux OS, it shows me the "blah blah" initialized: But then there is about a 4 minute pause where the system just hangs there. It ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    12

    question about boot process


    When I boot into my linux OS, it shows me the "blah blah" initialized:

    But then there is about a 4 minute pause where the system just hangs there. It then displays a good screen or two of lines repeating "hdd: drive not ready for command". Then boots up as normal. Any ideas as to what is causing this? Is there a .conf file or something like that that I could edit to not check for drive hdd, as there sholuld only be an hda and hdb for my two hard drives. If I am way off on this please let me know.

    Fedora also does this during initial installation, as it checks and finds an hda and hdb, but then proceeds to try to find hdc and hdd, and then displaying something about trying to reset those drives.

    Thanks in advance,
    Steve

  2. #2
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    edit your /etc/fstab to not contain an hdd. just comment it out '#' untill ur sure that you dont need it.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    12
    Ok i'm not seeing an hdd in my fstab, here's a copy of my fstab file.
    Code:
    LABEL=/                 /                       ext3    defaults        1 1
    LABEL=/boot             /boot                   ext3    defaults        1 2
    none                    /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
    none                    /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults        0 0
    none                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0
    none                    /sys                    sysfs   defaults        0 0
    /dev/hda5               /transfer               vfat    defaults        0 0
    /dev/hda7               swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
    /dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom              udf,iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,ro 0 0
    /dev/cdrom1             /mnt/cdrom1             udf,iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,ro 0 0
    /dev/fd0                /mnt/floppy             auto    noauto,owner,kudzu 0 0

  4. #4
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    odd, i would guess that hdd is your cd rom probably.....but thats about all i have.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    12
    Ok, I figured out that yes, it is my second CD-ROM drive. I was looking through my system logs and this is what I found keeps looping during the boot:
    Code:
    hdd: status error: error=0x20LastFailedSense 0x02 
    hdd: drive not ready for command
    hdd: status error: status=0x58 { DriveReady SeekComplete DataRequest }
    hdd: status error: error=0x00
    hdd: drive not ready for command
    hdd: status error: status=0x58 { DriveReady SeekComplete DataRequest }
    hdd: status error: error=0x00
    hdd: drive not ready for command
    hdd: status error: status=0x58 { DriveReady SeekComplete DataRequest }
    hdd: status error: error=0x00
    hdd: drive not ready for command
    hdd: ATAPI reset complete
    hdd: status error: status=0x59 { DriveReady SeekComplete DataRequest Error }
    hdd: status error: error=0x20LastFailedSense 0x02
    What's going on here?

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Posts
    23
    Maybe you can put disk in CD rom and then check what going on

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •