Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I'm pretty new to Linux and would appreciate your thoughts on this: I have a number of accounts on my system and used to be able to log in ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unable to log in unless using root account

Hi,
    I'm pretty new to Linux and would appreciate your thoughts on this: I have a number of accounts on my system and used to be able to log in with any of them. Recently, something must have changed as I can no longer log in with anything but the root account. I first noticed this when using PuTTY for remote access.
    This is where it gets a little bizarre! If I try to log on with an account other than root and I type an incorrect password I am informed that the password is incorrect and prompted to enter it again. If I type the correct password returned to the login prompt. If I do the same using PuTTY I am returned to the login prompt if I enter an incorrect password and if I enter the correct password the session ends with an error (Network error: software caused connection abort).
    If I log in as root and su to another account I receive a permission denied message but if I type whoami the account appears to be the specified user. If I su - to the new account I do not receive an error message. This may, of course be totally unrelated!
    I did find an article that suggested that the problem mat be related to permissions on some files / directories. The following was correct:
    /etc 755
    bashrc 644
    /home/useraccount directory 740

Thanks in advance for any assistance you can provide.

What is the default shell for each of these users? If they are disabled it might be something like /bin/false.
    Code:
    awk -F: '{print $7}' </etc/passwd
    That would explain them logging out again.

Just Joined!