Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
What is the importance of architecture of any software package? How can we find that for an installed package...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Hyderabad,India.
    Posts
    20

    Redhat Linux Help


    What is the importance of architecture of any software package? How can we find that for an installed package
    Last edited by techieMoe; 07-11-2008 at 01:07 PM. Reason: Removed FONT tags

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer khafa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    858
    i am not sure that i fully understand your question but i will guess.

    software are generally built for a given architecture( x86, x86_64, sparc , alpha ...) and run only on that given platform.
    if you are running Redhat/Fedora/CentOS you can find your architecture with the next command
    Code:
    uname -a
    Linux and me it's a love story

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer Thrillhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arlington, VA, USA
    Posts
    1,377
    Quote Originally Posted by g.phanibabu View Post
    How can we find that for an installed package
    yum will usually show you the architecture of an installed package. For example:
    Code:
    yum list perl*
    Loading "installonlyn" plugin
    Loading "security" plugin
    Setting up repositories
    Reading repository metadata in from local files
    Installed Packages
    perl.i386                                4:5.8.8-10.el5_0.2     installed
    perl-Archive-Tar.noarch                  1.30-1.fc6             installed
    perl-BSD-Resource.i386                   1.28-1.fc6.1           installed
    perl-Compress-Zlib.i386                  1.42-1.fc6             installed
    perl-DBD-MySQL.i386                      3.0007-1.fc6           installed
    perl-DBI.i386                            1.52-1.fc6             installed
    perl-Digest-HMAC.noarch                  1.01-15                installed
    perl-Digest-SHA1.i386                    2.11-1.2.1             installed
    perl-HTML-Parser.i386                    3.55-1.fc6             installed
    In this output, you can see i386 is installed for most of the packages but some of them are noarch, meaning they can be installed on any architecture.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Hyderabad,India.
    Posts
    20
    Hello i am asking about how to know the architecture of the installed software packages? Can u help me?

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer khafa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    858
    you can use yum for this(this works if the package is rpm) as follows
    Code:
    yum info application_name
    on my system i got what follows
    Code:
    [me@home]$ yum info firefox
    Installed Packages
    Name   : firefox
    Arch   : i386
    Version: 2.0.0.14
    Release: 1.fc7
    Size   : 38 M
    Repo   : installed
    Summary: Mozilla FireFox Web browser
    Description:
    here
    Code:
    Arch   : i386
    shows that firefox is built for i386
    Linux and me it's a love story

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Hyderabad,India.
    Posts
    20
    But on my system it's saying
    bash: yum: command not found
    My system OS is Red Hat linux 9.0

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer khafa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    858
    that means you dont have yum.
    Redhat Linux 9 is quite old and is not supported anymore.
    if you can afford you might consider installing Fedora 9
    Linux and me it's a love story

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Hyderabad,India.
    Posts
    20
    Ok, is there any other way find it?

  10. #9
    Linux Engineer khafa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    858
    i hope that you have rpm.
    if that is the case you can do
    Code:
    rpm -qa --qf "%{n}-%{arch}\n" application_name
    on my machine i got
    Code:
    [me@home ~]$ rpm -qa --qf "%{n}-%{arch}\n" firefox
    firefox-i386
    Linux and me it's a love story

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Hyderabad,India.
    Posts
    20
    Yes, I got it
    Thanks for everything khafa

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •