Find the answer to your Linux question:
It worked with Core 1, but the install always froze with Core 1. I know that core 2 & 3 have serial mouse problems on the installatio, BUT this persists ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Logitech C7 Serial mouse not working with Core2 or 3 t1...

It worked with Core 1, but the install always froze with Core 1.

I know that core 2 & 3 have serial mouse problems on the installatio, BUT this persists post-installation. Does anyone know any solutions? I am a relative newbie to the linux world, so plain english appriciated.

Oh -- and the computer in question does not have a PS2 or USB port, so non-serial mice are out of the question. (Yes, this must be the only pentium 3 in the world with a serial mouse requirement.)

Just Joined!
    Splurge on an adapter, there only like $3 and they sell them everywhere.... allthough it is most likey the port....

---------------

Alternitively, you could get a PCI card, it's going to be about $20, but youll have 4 usb ports, so you can use your mouse, and other USB powered things.

Just Joined!

Adapter?

Adapter? There is no PS2 port on this comp at all. I have a PS2 to Serial adapter, but alas, no combo mouse to work with it, and I'm hard-pressed to find a serial mouse anywhere so far.

I was hoping there was some way to get this to work, since it is on the list of supported hardware, and worked in Core 1.

"Buy new hardware" isn't a very fun answer for me.. as it's only a hobby computer at the moment and I have no expendable money at the moment.

Linux Engineer
    have you tried to edit your /etc/X11/XF86config file?(section mouse)?
    Linux For Ever!

Just Joined!
    Yeah, I tried via setup, and all it does is occaisionally make the mouse pointer go nuts when the mouse is moved.. it flies around the top left of the screen and does nothing useful.

Linux Guru
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalar