Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
hey guys, sooo i just bought a domain from godaddy.com... and ive been reading alot on how to set up my webserver but all i can find is stuff for ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User zacam87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Viriginia
    Posts
    284

    need help with FC8 webserver


    hey guys, sooo i just bought a domain from godaddy.com... and ive been reading alot on how to set up my webserver but all i can find is stuff for ddns or some other dynamic dns tutorial. Im trying to figure out what i need to do so that when i type in my domainname into the browser my webpage comes up. right now if i put in my ip, it works just fine, but i need to get it all set up i guess... ive looked at bind but have not yet found a decent explanation on how to use it or what the config files should be like... id really appreciate the help thanks!

    -Z
    I can imagine a perfect world, a world without hate, a world without war. Then I can imagine us attacking that world because they\'d never expect it.

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    If I'm understanding correctly, it usually takes a few days for your new address to propagate to DNS servers around the world so that you can pull up your new address my domain name. Pulling it up by IP address should work immediately.
    oz

  3. #3
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    That's exactly right, oz. Most DNS servers propagate new entries within around 48 to 72 hours. After that, typing in the URL for your site will work just fine.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  4. #4
    Linux User zacam87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Viriginia
    Posts
    284
    yes, i understand that, but i think what my problem is is that i never put in any IP addresses anywhere when i registered for my domain, so it doesnt know where my server is. I dont know how to i guess register my server with the domain name? do i just type my ip into godaddy somewhere in the management section or somehting? thanks for the replies guys

    -Z
    I can imagine a perfect world, a world without hate, a world without war. Then I can imagine us attacking that world because they\'d never expect it.

  5. #5
    Linux User zacam87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Viriginia
    Posts
    284
    sorry for bumping this but does anyone know what i mean?
    I can imagine a perfect world, a world without hate, a world without war. Then I can imagine us attacking that world because they\'d never expect it.

  6. #6
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    While I'm familiar with the actual workings of DNS and IP routing, I've never registered a domain or website for myself. So I'm kind of at a loss here. You may want to contact godaddy.com to find out if you should have entered IP at the time you registered your Domain.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •