Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to Linux so sorry for the dumb questions. Ok so... everybody is talking about this "sessions" tab that should list KDE if it is installed and you ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

[SOLVED] kde - fedora9 - session q

I am new to Linux so sorry for the dumb questions.
    Ok so... everybody is talking about this "sessions" tab that should list KDE if it is installed and you just select it on the list and you will be running KDE. So I downloaded Fedora 9 i386 DVD image off of the Fedora Website, installed everything (including additional software) and i also did hit customize now and selected for KDE along with all the other Desktop Enviroments to be installed. So now when I log in I see 3 buttons, "log in", "suspend" and "switch user", none of which say "sessions" anyhow I went to system>preferences>personal>sessions to get the "Sessions Preferences" box to come up.

My question is when I go to login how come there is no "sessions" tab and how do I switch from Gnome to KDE using the "Sessions Preferences' box I opened.

Also during installation it asks for a root password and you can only install certain stuff or do certain stuff as the root user so I put in a password, but what is the username? How do I log in to the root user account?

So my two/three questions are the following:
    Why is there no "sessions" tab on my login screen / how do I switch from Gnome to KDE from the "Sessions Preferences" box i pulled up.
    and
    How do I log in to be the root user.

Thanks for answering my questions as they are very noobish.

To log in as root, the user name is simply root.
    I'll have to check out the other question when I get home from work and can look at my Linux system.

Just Joined!

thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Farmer Mike View Post
    To log in as root, the user name is simply root.