Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hello all, my /cpu/procinfo Code: processor : 0 vendor_id : GenuineIntel cpu family : 15 model : 2 model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.40GHz stepping : 7 cpu MHz ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    11

    cpu model name series?


    Hello all,

    my /cpu/procinfo

    Code:
    processor       : 0
    vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
    cpu family      : 15
    model           : 2
    model name      : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.40GHz
    stepping        : 7
    cpu MHz         : 2392.276
    cache size      : 512 KB
    fdiv_bug        : no
    hlt_bug         : no
    f00f_bug        : no
    coma_bug        : no
    fpu             : yes
    fpu_exception   : yes
    cpuid level     : 2
    wp              : yes
    flags           : fpu tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe cid xtpr
    bogomips        : 6402.00
    So, what if I want to find out what series my Xeon processor is? IE 5000, 7100, 3000, etc

    Anything else I can do from a OS end? I don't want to call Dell or go on-site where the box I'm ssh'ing into resides.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer khafa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    858
    try this
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/dmidecode | grep -i cpu
    Linux and me it's a love story

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    11
    Nice idea, but "cpu" was not found. I also tried patterns like processor, xeon, etc...but no go.

    Any other ideas?

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Have you tried without grep and search through the list?
    eg part of list I get ...
    Code:
    Processor Information
    	Socket Designation: SOCKET A
    	Type: Central Processor
    	Family: Other
    	Manufacturer: AuthenticAMD
    	ID: 62 06 00 00 FF F9 83 03
    	Signature: Family 6, Model 6, Stepping 2

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    11
    Edit: I just noticed you provided an example in your post, interesting, that was not there a second ago...

    hmmmm, no I have nothing in /usr/sbin/dmidecode that has "processor information"

    Also, I think I should mention I'm using centos 5.

    As a comparison, here is the /proc/cpuinfo for my machine

    [root@localhost ~]# cat /proc/cpuinfo
    processor : 0
    vendor_id : GenuineIntel
    cpu family : 6
    model : 15
    model name : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6400 @ 2.13GHz
    stepping : 2
    cpu MHz : 1600.000
    cache size : 2048 KB
    fdiv_bug : no
    hlt_bug : no
    f00f_bug : no
    coma_bug : no
    fpu : yes
    fpu_exception : yes
    cpuid level : 10
    wp : yes
    flags : fpu tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe lm constant_tsc pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
    bogomips : 5321.89
    As you can see, the "6400" is identified in the model name. I wonder why it's not in the box I am ssh'ing into? ><

    Thanks
    Last edited by jman22; 09-23-2008 at 11:26 PM. Reason: stuff

  6. #6
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    sudo /usr/sbin/dmidecode was what I ran ...

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    11
    sudo /usr/sbin/dmidecode was what I ran ...
    Duh, I'm stupid. I was vi'ing into the file lol

    Okay here is my output:

    Code:
    Processor Information
            Socket Designation: Microprocessor
            Type: Central Processor
            Family: <OUT OF SPEC>
            Manufacturer: Intel
            ID: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
            Version: Not Specified
            Voltage: 1.8 V
            External Clock: 1066 MHz
            Max Speed: 5200 MHz
            Current Speed: 2133 MHz
            Status: Populated, Enabled
            Upgrade: ZIF Socket
            L1 Cache Handle: 0x0700
            L2 Cache Handle: 0x0701
            L3 Cache Handle: Not Provided
            Serial Number: Not Specified
            Asset Tag: Not Specified
            Part Number: Not Specified
    Something else useful is the "system information" section, I might be able to use some of that information at the Dell site and find what I need. Thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •