Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have a new dedicated server that will be acting only as a database server. The hosting company turned it over without much of anything except for mysql installed (even ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question RHEL5... how to install phpmyadmin (w/ Yum?)

I have a new dedicated server that will be acting only as a database server. The hosting company turned it over without much of anything except for mysql installed (even port 80 was blocked).

Needless to say, I am a newb and would like to have phpmyadmin on the machine. I already installed php via yum but when I do the following:
    Code:
    yum install phpmyadmin
    Loading "dellsysidplugin" plugin
    Loading "rhnplugin" plugin
    rhel-x86_64-server-5      100% |=========================| 1.4 kB    00:00     
    rhn-tools-rhel-x86_64-ser 100% |=========================| 1.2 kB    00:00     
    rhel-x86_64-server-vt-5   100% |=========================| 1.4 kB    00:00     
    Setting up Install Process
    Parsing package install arguments
    No package phpmyadmin available.
    Nothing to do
    Why isn't phpmyadmin available? Do I need to edit my yum.conf file? It's totally the generic yum.conf right now:
    Code:
    main]
    cachedir=/var/cache/yum
    keepcache=0
    debuglevel=2
    logfile=/var/log/yum.log
    distroverpkg=redhat-release
    tolerant=1
    exactarch=1
    obsoletes=1
    gpgcheck=1
    plugins=1

# Note: yum-RHN-plugin doesn't honor this.
    metadata_expire=1h

# Default.
    # installonly_limit = 3

# PUT YOUR REPOS HERE OR IN separate files named file.repo
    # in /etc/yum.repos.d
    Do I need to add a repository in the yum.conf file... such as some sort of atomicrocket turtle reference. If I sound like I only know 2% of what I'm talking about then you are right on.