Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all, I've been using Slackware and Debian for the past 9 or 10 years. I recently accepted a new job where Fedora is used through most of the company ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

wireless issues on Fedora 9

Hello all,

I've been using Slackware and Debian for the past 9 or 10 years. I recently accepted a new job where Fedora is used through most of the company so I thought it would be a good idea to install it on an extra hard drive in my Thinkpad T41. The install went great and, so far, the only issue I'm having is getting the integrated wireless card to work properly. The integrated card is the Intel Pro/Wireless LAN 2100 3B Mini PCI Adapter. I believe the drivers are already part of the latest kernel so that shouldn't be an issue. Fedora recognizes the card and I can even see open wireless access points using Wireless Assistant but when I attempt to connect to one, it fails. Sometimes, I get an SELinux AVC denial. Could this be the problem? I've searched the web for an answer and did a couple days worth of troubleshooting. I'm at a loss. I really want to move to Fedora but getting my wireless working on my T41 is important.

Thanks!

wireless is always a pain, but i found that wlassistant was the best application i could find in making it work painlessly.

# yum install wlassistant

it helped me get it working for my sister, who is not the best at computers.
    New to the internet, technical forums, or the hacker / open source community??
    Read this to learn good posting habits http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

RHCE for RHEL version 5
    RHCT for RHEL version 4