Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
Hi All, I have four partitions in my machine. Initiatlly, I had Windows Vista Business in one partion and Fedora 7 in another. The remaining two partions were used for ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    101

    [SOLVED] Multiple booting


    Hi All,
    I have four partitions in my machine. Initiatlly, I had Windows Vista Business in one partion and Fedora 7 in another. The remaining two partions were used for storing basic files.

    Because I was running out of space in the Windows Vista partion, I decided to intstall another Windows Vista Business in the third partion so that I can install Visual Studio 2008 Express edition in it. Fine, the two Windows run well, but sadly I can no longer boot Fedora 7. I am tempted to reinstall Fedora 7, but I am not sure if this will render any of the Windows partions unbootable. Nightmare! Besides, is it possible to have three bootable partitions in one machine?

    Thanks for your concern.

    Cheers!

    biniman

  2. #2
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    It's possible that installing Vista wrote over GRUB. Drop the Fedora CD in your CD-ROM, boot into rescue mode. Execute
    Code:
    chroot /mnt/sysimage
    grub-install
    exit
    exit
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    101
    Thanks Jay. What is the full syntax for the above command? I followed the instructions and I got an error which says "install-device not specified". I am not strong in Linux, so I do not want to guess.

    biniman

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    101
    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    It's possible that installing Vista wrote over GRUB. Drop the Fedora CD in your CD-ROM, boot into rescue mode. Execute
    Code:
    chroot /mnt/sysimage
    grub-install
    exit
    exit
    Thanks Jay. What is the full syntax for the above command? I followed the instructions and I got an error which says "install-device not specified". I am not strong in Linux, so I do not want to guess.

    biniman

  6. #5
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Oh crap... I hate when that happens! Forgot a part of the command! It should have been
    Code:
    chroot /mnt/sysimage
    grub-install /dev/hdx
    exit
    exit
    /dev/hdx being your / partition. You'll find that with
    Code:
    fdisk -l     (that's a small L, not a one)
    Sorry about that!
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    101
    I have run the commands. No errors, but I still cannot boot the Linux partition. I can only see options to boot any of the two Windows partitions. There is no option to boot Linux.

  8. #7
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Is it a Windows loader screen, or a GRUB loading screen?
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    101
    Apology, but how do you mean? I do not know the difference between Windows loading screen and Grud loading screen.

  10. #9
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    damn... that took some Google work!
    Does your boot screen look like this... or a bit more like this?

    Take notice of the top of the screen shots!
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  11. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    101
    Sorry Jay,
    I stepped out for a while. The screen looks like the first "this" (Windows loader screen).

    biniman

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •