Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I am new to linux world and would like to install Fedora 9. Presently am having Win xp on my laptop. I downloaded the fc9 dvd iso and burnt ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Need help 2 install fedora 9 using USB flash drive

Hi,
    I am new to linux world and would like to install Fedora 9. Presently am having Win xp on my laptop.
    I downloaded the fc9 dvd iso and burnt the DVD. However my dvd drive is not functioning properly.
    So I want install using a flash drive. I have an 8 GB flash drive. I want to copy the downloaded fc9 dvd iso to my flash drive and do the installation from my flash drive. How can I do that

Just Joined!

Just Joined!

Thumbs up

Hi axet...

thanks for the reply. I have tried the live USB version of fc9. and it also has feature called "install to Disk". But installing from the live USB gives very few features compared to DVD iso. thats why I wanted to do the complete installation from the DVD iso.

I have also seen another option of installing from hard drive, where we can do the install from a DVD iso on a hard drive. And a usb stick can be treated as a hard drive. But the problem is I need to boot up using a installer bootup CD, and my CD drive is not working properly. How can I make the USB stick containing the DVD iso file as an installer boot up device ?

thanks,
    Aju

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    You need to convert your DVD image to usb by liveusb-creator.

Check it here:

https://fedorahosted.org/liveusb-creator

Just Joined!
    I do have the "live usb creator". So you mean to say use the DVD iso instead of the live-cd iso while creating the live usb ??

Let me try that..

Just Joined!
    probably you can't install from liveusb all packages what you need.