Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi i am facing a problem with ethernet problem,ethernet is not in active mode,when i am pinging to loopback ip 127.0.0.1 it's giving replay,how can i activate ehernet in my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    4

    Ethernet Problem


    Hi


    i am facing a problem with ethernet problem,ethernet is not in active mode,when i am pinging to loopback ip 127.0.0.1 it's giving replay,how can i activate ehernet in my PC.

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Which Ethernet card do you have? Can you post the output of this command and post it back here.
    Code:
    lspci |grep net
    If you get "command not found", then try logging in as root, then try again.
    Also, post the output of this command
    Code:
    ifconfig
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie PureGrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Mt. Washington, Kentucky
    Posts
    154
    Quote Originally Posted by admin.network View Post
    Hi


    i am facing a problem with ethernet problem,ethernet is not in active mode,when i am pinging to loopback ip 127.0.0.1 it's giving replay,how can i activate ehernet in my PC.

    I would do the following.

    cd /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts

    ls- al

    You will see ifcfg-eth0.

    vi ifcfg-eth0

    Check the settings in there. Should be what you need. Google the rest if you need help.

    ;o)

    Also, check the /etc/sysconfig/network file as well for gateway and hostname settings.

    /etc/hosts
    /etc/resolv.conf

    These files will be your friends.
    LINUX - "The other white meat.."
    Registered Linux User #439112

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    4

    Hi

    Hi
    i am using Real teak ethernet card.




    Quote Originally Posted by PureGrain View Post
    I would do the following.

    cd /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts

    ls- al

    You will see ifcfg-eth0.

    vi ifcfg-eth0

    Check the settings in there. Should be what you need. Google the rest if you need help.

    ;o)

    Also, check the /etc/sysconfig/network file as well for gateway and hostname settings.

    /etc/hosts
    /etc/resolv.conf

    These files will be your friends.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    4

    Sound card

    Hi
    I am a facing a problem with sound card,it's inbilt sound card it's not detected.

  6. #6
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Hi
    It would be really helpful if you could post the info that I asked for previously. Let's try solving one problem at a time and see how that goes. I assume you'd like to get the Ethernet card working first. Once you get that working then who knows, maybe you can get the sound working on your own.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •