Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi Guys I am new to the linux world (heard of the word 'Linux' one month back only).. so plz be patient and sympathetic to me.. I am bored of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

FEDORA 9 & ubuntu 8.04 both fail on Lenovo

Hi Guys
    I am new to the linux world (heard of the word 'Linux' one month back only).. so plz be patient and sympathetic to me..
    I am bored of using the MS Windows thats why i chose to install Linux on my Lenovo Laptop 3000 C200 (Intel CPU, Centrino, T1350 @1.86 GHz 781 MHz, 1.99 GB RAM, 160 GB SATA Hard disk) this is the info i got about my computer when i saw the properties..

when i installed Fedora 9 on my computer (with windows partition- 110GB to windows and rest to Fedora).i was able to install fully and use it for 2 days but later it stopped responding.. i mean the mouse used to hang and i had to press the power off button and start my computer again. when i tried to update my fedora version the same problem happens after few minutes.. mouse hangs and computer stopped responding- wanting a reboot.
    then i dropped the idea of using fedora was very much angry with that.

so had to format my windows even.. tried this procedure again.. but faced the same problem... in toto i have tried this 4 times but always failed..

lastly i tried to install UBUNTU 8.04 on my same laptop but contrary to the earlier installation of fedora, the UBUNTU installation did not get successful.. the mouse hangs at 1st step of the 7 steps of installation. tried this twice..

my friend has installed ubuntu on his computer with this same cd but it doesn't seem to work for me..
    can anybody help me...
    please.... for my sake use simple terms, i mean i don't know the terminology used in Linux