Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
is it possible to use a red hat 9 as a server in the network and the clients are windows base(windows 98se and windows xp)?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3

    Red hat 9 network


    is it possible to use a red hat 9 as a server in the network and the clients are windows base(windows 98se and windows xp)?

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552
    Yes, that's possible.

    You want to use it for File/Printing server and/or Mail server.

    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3
    yes, i will used it for file sharing.

    red hat has dhcp feature, right?

    our current setup is windows 2000 server is our server in the network. in the server we have a dos base database application (clipper and its database is paradox), in the client we just map network drive the folder
    where the application is located in the server in order to use by the client computer. in short, the application is running in the server. can i do this setup in linux? can exe file run in the linux? because exe file is not recognized file of linux.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    14
    Hi,
    you can make the Linux 9.0 has a Server and all the other as clients.depending upoon how you are going to configure the linux box.....

    Regards
    Bittu.k.k

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3
    ok thanks.

    is exe file can also run in linux as executable file like in windows?

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552
    Quote Originally Posted by heirkeyso
    ok thanks.

    is exe file can also run in linux as executable file like in windows?
    The way executables work on *nix and variants differs then that from windows.
    While .exe,*.com are programs when using Windows,an Unix executable program/script has executiong rights and can have any extenstion you want.

    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

  7. #7
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552
    Quote Originally Posted by heirkeyso
    yes, i will used it for file sharing.

    red hat has dhcp feature, right?

    our current setup is windows 2000 server is our server in the network. in the server we have a dos base database application (clipper and its database is paradox), in the client we just map network drive the folder
    where the application is located in the server in order to use by the client computer. in short, the application is running in the server. can i do this setup in linux? can exe file run in the linux? because exe file is not recognized file of linux.
    If you want to implement a Linux server for Windows 2000 replacement.
    Use Samba for the file/printer sharing and/or Windows 2000 Domain Controler. (All linux distros support DHCP/DNS services)
    I would suggest not to use Red Hat 9 but Fedora Core 1 or Fedora Core 2.
    RH9 has reached it's end-of-life stage, so Red Hat will not supply any support for RH9.
    Or use Red Hat's Enterprise edition.

    in the client we just map network drive the folder
    where the application is located in the server in order to use by the client computer.
    This can be accomplished by using Samba

    in short, the application is running in the server.
    Nopes, It's not, it runs on the clients machine, only the data and program files are located on a physical different computer, the server in this case.

    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •