Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
HOw set a static IP on fedora 8?? I'm using dhcp but i need set a static IP. Please help me!...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    gnu
    gnu is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    5

    static IP on fedora 8?? How??


    HOw set a static IP on fedora 8??
    I'm using dhcp but i need set a static IP.

    Please help me!

  2. #2
    Just Joined! blackpearl007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    29
    Well just type this in the console :

    Code:
    [pritam@localhost ~]$ sudo setup
    Then select network configuration from the menu and in the next menu select your device and then specify the static address in the space given after unchecking dhcp.

  3. #3
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    You can use the system-config-network tool to disable dhcp and enter your network settings manually.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    14
    Try this one:
    This is my network card settings .

    # Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+
    DEVICE=eth0
    BOOTPROTO=dhcp
    HWADDR=00:16:E6:73:CA:79
    ONBOOT=yes

    if I want to static ip the settings are as follows:

    ## Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+
    DEVICE=eth0
    BOOTPROTO=static
    IPADDR=192.168.30.200
    NETMASk=255.255.255.0
    ONBOOT=yes
    HWADDR=00:16:E6:73:CA:79

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    14
    The above configuration file can be found by execute this command

    vi /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •