Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi I would like to uninstall fedora 9 from my laptop. I'm new to this OS and am not very technically minded. I installed it on the only HD and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

need Help

Hi
    I would like to uninstall fedora 9 from my laptop. I'm new to this OS and am not very technically minded. I installed it on the only HD and when I try to install Windows from the CD-Rom it doesn't recognise it.

Gil

You don't 'uninstall' as such. You can install something else over the top, your choice seems to be Windwos. Normally the process you use is to set the BIOS to boot from the CD, boot up off the windwos CD and follow through the install process for that OS.

If the CD rom doesn't recognise the windwos CD, then either your CD drive is faulty or your disk is damaged. Either way, it's not Linux that is the problem here - you're booting up your system with the windwos installer before Fedora gets a chance to run.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by p537g View Post
    Hi
    I would like to uninstall fedora 9 from my laptop. I'm new to this OS and am not very technically minded. I installed it on the only HD and when I try to install Windows from the CD-Rom it doesn't recognise it.

Gil
    Dear Gil,

Your first problem is that you booted from windows and is now trying to install fedora from the Cd. Fedora is not a application software but an Operating System which is not been installed in this way.