Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi i am new in linux..i have to configure a firewall server for my office.we r using RHEL5.0,we have public ip for web server and mail server..thats ip also use ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Rhel5.0 firewall server for my network

hi i am new in linux..i have to configure a firewall server for my office.we r using RHEL5.0,we have public ip for web server and mail server..thats ip also use to connect client system for internet access

Pl see my network arch

--------------------
    firewall server |
    ext network |
    eth1:61.247.253.235|
    --------------------
    int network |
    eth0:192.168.1.1 |
    --------------------
    |---->web server 192.168.1.2
    |
    |
    firewall server--->|---->mail server 192.168.1.3 (optional)
    |
    |
    |
    |--->Clients for access internet(192.168.1.X)
    Here my requirement,
    1.Web and mail server should be bublished
    2.client can access internet
    3.all ports should be closed,when ping in firewall server from outside network.
    4.all ports should be closed,when ping in firewall server from inside of network(internet access client) except what i mention particular ip,

now,what should i do?..please help me any body step by step

thanks
    aamdevan (aamdevan@gmail.com

Linux User
    Personally, I think it is an overkill to use the latest hardware as a firewall as well as something else. Rather get an old pentium class pc with minimum spec and use a dedicated firewall like smoothwall or one of it's derivatives. All the firewall and forwarding rules are readily configurable.
    If the firewall pc is hacked, that's all you use. The rest of your network is safe.