Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
I just resized my NTFS partition for the second time, using Partition Magic. Now when I boot, the grub splash screen doesn't appear. Instead I get a grub> command prompt. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    220

    help! Grub Fails to load after RePartition,. Help


    I just resized my NTFS partition for the second time, using Partition Magic. Now when I boot, the grub splash screen doesn't appear. Instead I get a grub> command prompt. What is going on? Can anybody help? I have knoppix, so I can do some basic recovery operations if needs be. Please help, cause I have important things on both the windows and linux parts of my HDD.

    Thanks
    N3WO

    There are 10 types of people; those who count in binary and those who don\'t...

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    you hafta tell it where the kernel is

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    220
    ?? I didn't change the linux partition at all. Is it right that Grub needs to be told at the command prompt all of a sudden? Is it possible to repair grub in knoppix? (I can see and mount all the parittions on Knoppix)
    N3WO

    There are 10 types of people; those who count in binary and those who don\'t...

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    why don't you try lilo?

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    220
    I tried
    Code:
    kernel /dev/hda5/vmlinuz-2.6.8-1.521
    Error: Cannot mount selected partition

    I tried typing boot /dev/hda5.... but it said that the kernel must be loaded before booting. Any suggestions as to how I can boot linux, and how I can get my old grub back? Thanks
    N3WO

    There are 10 types of people; those who count in binary and those who don\'t...

  7. #6
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    I tried
    Code:
    Code:
    kernel /dev/hda5/vmlinuz-2.6.8-1.521
    
    Error: Cannot mount selected partition
    is /dev/hda5 your boot partition or your root partition?

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    220
    It's my root partition. But I get the same error when I try hda1 and hda2 and hda3 and hda4. and even just plain hda
    N3WO

    There are 10 types of people; those who count in binary and those who don\'t...

  9. #8
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    do you have a boot partition?

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    220
    Yeah, I'm pretty sure I do. At least I used to, cause I've been running Windoze and FC2 concurrently for a while. Is there a way to restore the boot partition if it's been damaged?
    N3WO

    There are 10 types of people; those who count in binary and those who don\'t...

  11. #10
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    well why don't you boot up in knoppix, and copy-paste your /etc/fstab file for me

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •