Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Has anyone ever used HP data protector on Linux? I've done research of how to install it and it gives me a error of wanting HP-UX disk a Red Hat ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4

    Angry Help with HP Data PRotector 6.0 on RHEL 5.4 server


    Has anyone ever used HP data protector on Linux? I've done research of how to install it and it gives me a error of wanting HP-UX disk a Red Hat install. Granted I'm new at linux, but I'm able to fallow a simple command string because of DOS. Anyone have any Advice?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,752
    You need to provide more information as to how the application was pacakaged for installation on Linux, and how you are going about installing it.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4
    using the cli there's a omnisetup.sh and i've used the ./omnisetup.sh command it will attempt to install the program but, it will always go to that error

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,752
    Have you checked on HP's web site for help?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4
    Yep . . . lol no dice

  7. #6
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,752
    The nice thing about support, is that there is none...
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1
    hi mgaul
    The error message you get is a valid one."Please inseart HP_UNIX installation media" .The linux cd contains only IS and CM for Linux. To install agents in Linux clients you should use the HP-UNIX cd and run the script
    omnisetup.sh -install da,ma

    it works. I have installed in rhel 5.3

    Thanks &Regards
    Navaneeth

  9. #8
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    539
    Good to hear you got it to work navaneeth. As mgaul points out there really isn't much in the way of help available for DP on linux.

    I must admit that I did find HP Data Protector to be "lacking" to say the least
    RHCE #100-015-395
    Please don't PM me with questions as no reply may offend, that's what the forums are for.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •