Find the answer to your Linux question:
Greetings I'm a linux newbie. Can you tell me, if I want to install Red Hat Enterprise Linux (v. 5 for 32-bit x86) on my Acer laptop? Is this possible? ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing RHEL on laptop

Greetings

I'm a linux newbie.

Can you tell me, if I want to install Red Hat Enterprise Linux (v. 5 for 32-bit x86) on my Acer laptop? Is this possible? I looked on the compatibility list but it seems that I can only install this OS on a server machine? Is that true?

Thanks for you help

I don't know where the list you got is from, but you should be able to install it on just about any machine. The easiest way to find out if you can is to download it and try.

Just Joined!

Thanks for your help

I will try it and see if it works.

Linux Guru
    You will most likely have some hardware problems. The hardware in a newer laptop may have devices that are not supported in RHEL. The most common is wireless and LAN devices, I would expect for those to NOT work.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

Just Joined!

Three possible ways to test...

Can you get a live CD for this OS? Then you can experiment without changing your existing hard disk drive.

Do you have enough disk space to create second hard disk drive partition for a dual boot system? You would need between 10 and 15 Gigabytes to do this (I find that just over 10 Gigabytes is needed for a full development system. I chose 15 to be safe).

Alternatively, you could always buy a second laptop disk drive, and use it for backups as well as experimental partitions. This is my preferred way of upgrading to a new release.