Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20
Windows does not play well not being the first OS installed. I have found it simpler to run Windows as virtual machine....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Central Kansas
    Posts
    13

    Vm


    Windows does not play well not being the first OS installed. I have found it simpler to run Windows as virtual machine.
    Last edited by MrDaler; 06-15-2010 at 01:44 PM. Reason: Need to add to it.

  2. #12
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    You can use PartedMagic LiveCD. Its X Server works fine with all Cards.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    21
    Hi there, thanks for replies!! I have needed to work on those, but now I would like to solve it. Until now i have booted Windows directly by changing boot priority. So there is my current situation: Grub is not installed on MBR of disk with Win, because I need to change disks really often, so other systems must be functional without the Linux disk. That sure works, so now when I change the disk priority to Linux disk, how should I configure the Grub? I am sorry for asking, but with previous expiriences (in this thread ) I need to be sure. Thanks for any help!

    logs:
    Code:
    [root@localhost ~]# fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 750.1 GB, 750156374016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 91201 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *           1       91202   732571648    7  HPFS/NTFS
    
    Disk /dev/sdb: 750.1 GB, 750156374016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 91201 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdb1   *           1          38      305203+  83  Linux
    /dev/sdb2              39         675     5116702+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sdb3             676       91201   727150095   83  Linux
    
    Disk /dev/sdc: 750.1 GB, 750156374016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 91201 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdc1   *           1          13      104391   83  Linux
    /dev/sdc2              14       91201   732467610   8e  Linux LVM
    
    Disk /dev/sdd: 8075 MB, 8075140608 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 981 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdd1   *           1         981     7879851    b  W95 FAT32
    grub.conf:
    Code:
    # grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
    # NOTICE:  You have a /boot partition.  This means that
    #          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
    #          root (hd0,0)
    #          kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/sdb3
    #          initrd /initrd-version.img
    #boot=/dev/sdb1
    default=0
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title Red Hat Enterprise Linux Client (2.6.18-194.3.1.el5)
    	root (hd0,0)
    	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-194.3.1.el5 ro root=LABEL=/ ro quite vga=788 splash rhgb quiet
    	initrd /initrd-2.6.18-194.3.1.el5.img
    title Red Hat Enterprise Linux Client (2.6.18-194.el5)
    	root (hd0,0)
    	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-194.el5 ro root=LABEL=/ ro quite vga=788 splash rhgb quiet
    	initrd /initrd-2.6.18-194.el5.img
    title Other
    	rootnoverify (hd1,2)
    	makeactive
    	chainloader +1

  4. #14
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Replace title Other block with this :
    Code:
    title Windows OS
             rootnoverify (hd1,2)
             map (hd0) (hd1)
             map (hd1) (hd0)
             chainloader +1
    You should add an entry of Linux installed in /dev/sdc Hard disk too. Just mount /dev/sdc1 partition, copy first title block ( title, root, kernel and initrd lines ) from its /boot/grub/grub.conf file and paste in above grub.conf file.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    21
    Thanks, I am really greatful to you, you are quicker than the light! Thanks again, I am gonna giving it a try.

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    21
    hate to say it, but it says disc read error for the win. I have tried to change rootnoverify (hd1,2) to rootnoverify (hd1,0) or rootnoverify (hd1,1),did not work either...

    Windows disk is fine - it can be loaded manually by changing boot sequence

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    21

    Smile

    Bazingaaaa!!! I have tried the other disk, so the block is like this:

    Code:
    title Windows OS
             rootnoverify (hd2,0)
             map (hd0) (hd2)
             map (hd2) (hd0)
             chainloader +1
    And it works!! Thanks a lot Devils casper! Now I have to do some reading about this map command so I understand the trick.

    Thanks! SOLVED

  8. #18
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    map command is just a cheat code. Windows OS doesn't boot up if you don't set its Hard disk as Primary.

    In your machine, Hard disk having Windows OS is not Primary. Using map code, we swapped (hd2) with (hd0). When Windows Boot Loader receives boot control ( chainloading ) it assume that Hard disk having Windows OS is Primary and Windows OS boot up without any problem.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    map command is just a cheat code. Windows OS doesn't boot up if you don't set its Hard disk as Primary.

    In your machine, Hard disk having Windows OS is not Primary. Using map code, we swapped (hd2) with (hd0). When Windows Boot Loader receives boot control ( chainloading ) it assume that Hard disk having Windows OS is Primary and Windows OS boot up without any problem.
    Well, now I see what has happened, thanks again. This thread can be marked as solved thanks to you!

    Regards, Pidiclovek

  10. #20
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Glad to help you !
    You can mark your own thread [Solved]. There is an option for this under Thread Tools link at Top Panel of each thread.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •