Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
And I need a complete list of my applications... Can I do that on Fedora 12 so that I can copy that list on my email account?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie daacosta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Medellín, Colombia
    Posts
    213

    About to clean-install Fedora 13


    And I need a complete list of my applications... Can I do that on Fedora 12 so that I can copy that list on my email account?
    -D-

    Registered User # 402675

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Create a list of installed packages :
    Code:
    rpm -qa > packages_list
    Remove kernel entries from list manually.
    Install all packages in one go :
    Code:
    su -
    yum -y install $(cat packages_list)
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    We need a bit modification here. packages_list will have package name + version number and if you are upgrade Fedora 12 to 13, this list won't do good.
    You have to remove version number from each package name.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie daacosta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Medellín, Colombia
    Posts
    213
    Thanks for answering and for your help. It doesn't matter that I have f12 or whatever in the name of the application, I just want to recreate the operating system as it was before. I have managed to upgrade using the dvd preserving everything but some apps are hanging (openoffice... I will figure it out...) What is good about the command is that it also includes the applications that were installed from source.
    -D-

    Registered User # 402675

  6. #5
    Linux Enthusiast Mudgen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    664
    Quote Originally Posted by daacosta View Post
    Thanks for answering and for your help. It doesn't matter that I have f12 or whatever in the name of the application, I just want to recreate the operating system as it was before. I have managed to upgrade using the dvd preserving everything but some apps are hanging (openoffice... I will figure it out...) What is good about the command is that it also includes the applications that were installed from source.
    rpm -qa will not show apps installed from source, unless they were done by creating rpms for installation (as with src rpms processed with rpmbuild --rebuild).

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    109
    I have been looking for a way to do this. Thanks. Install all packages in one go :
    Code:

    su -
    yum -y install $(cat packages_list)
    Last edited by robertdaleweir; 06-29-2010 at 03:41 PM.

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    109
    Quote Originally Posted by robertdaleweir View Post
    I have been looking for a way to do this. Thanks. Install all packages in one go :
    Code:

    su -
    yum -y install $(cat packages_list)
    To get just the list, without the versions, one can run; as root.
    Code:
    #yum list all | awk '{ print $1 }' | sort -u > list-of-installs
    You must still remove the 'kernel' items from the list so as not reinstall older kernels. Cheers...

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie daacosta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Medellín, Colombia
    Posts
    213
    Everything is set and Fedora 13 is running fine. Some highlights:

    * Openoffice.org3 doesn't need to be installed from source in order to use some extensions that I need such as NLP-Solver. I used the repositories and worked OK.
    * Python 3's idle is now idle3
    * Third party repositories from rpm fusion are fine and I was able to download mp3 support, etc.

    For a newbie like me Fedora 13 looks very similar to Fedora 12
    -D-

    Registered User # 402675

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •