Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm playing as support for some Linux test servers for some software developers. (I say "playing" because I have little experience with Linux, but extensive with networking and Windows Server.) ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

odd network issues

I'm playing as support for some Linux test servers for some software developers. (I say "playing" because I have little experience with Linux, but extensive with networking and Windows Server.) They now want me to actually troubleshoot a networking issue. I have been able to solve quite a few networking issues with these machines in the past, but this particular one is beyond my abilities.

During their testing, they need to make connections between machines and copy large amounts of data over several hours. The machines are Dell R710 servers hooked to a Dell PowerConnect 6224 switch running at regular 1Gb speeds running RHEL 5. For a brief time, they'll connect and transfer data properly, but after about 5-20 minutes (seemingly random time period) they will both disconnect and quit transferring. Those machines are then unable to connect to any other machines until the network service is restarted, however, they can ping other machines and surf the internet, and they can be pinged.

I'm stumped on this. it's partially disabling the network service, but not entirely. Originally, the machines were hooked to a Dell PowerConnect 2724 with several FC raid controllers' management interfaces, and the 6224 switch just had some more of the raid controllers. I moved around the connections so the servers were on the 6224 and all the raid controllers were on the 2724. That didn't make any difference. I've been told by the developers that they updated the drivers to the latest version, but that made no difference.