Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
Alright. I isntalled FC11 on my comp a while ago. Thinking that It didnt have yum I tried to overwrite the installation with another installation of it. Im guessing that ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! VanHalenMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    49

    Still havin trouble with Yum


    Alright. I isntalled FC11 on my comp a while ago. Thinking that It didnt have yum I tried to overwrite the installation with another installation of it. Im guessing that this is the source for my problems. Every time I try to do anything 'yum' related I get errors like:
    (doing simple 'yum upgrade')
    Code:
    Loaded plugins: refresh-packagekit
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "/usr/bin/yum", line 29, in <module>
        yummain.user_main(sys.argv[1:], exit_code=True)
      File "yummain.py", line 254, in user_main
        errcode = main(args)
      File "yummain.py", line 88, in main
        base.getOptionsConfig(args)
      File "cli.py", line 203, in getOptionsConfig
        self.plugins.run('args', args=args)
      File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/yum/plugins.py", line 170, in run
        raise ValueError('unknown slot name "%s"' % slotname)
    ValueError: unknown slot name "args"
    So I figured Id try to get a yum rpm and try to install it again. But any time I try to install any rpm it does that thing about warnings that such and such user doesnt exist. I read about that and apparently for most people it usually goes on and finishes the installation with a differnet user instead. But with mine it says that error a good 20 times and then stops. So I guess I just need to uninstall Yum all together and reinstall it. I looked around and cant seem to find an answer, Sorry if this is redundant. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    But any time I try to install any rpm it does that thing about warnings that such and such user doesn't exist
    It looks like you are trying to install source rpm (.src.rpm) instead of regular rpm (.rpm) package. Regular rpm doesn't throw any such errors except dependency errors, if any.

    Thinking that It didnt have yum I tried to overwrite the installation with another installation of it. Im guessing that this is the source for my problems.
    Which version of Fedora are you using right now? If this problem is popping up in every install, then you must be doing some thing wrong with yum.

    How do you configure yum after fresh installation?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Linux User glennzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Salem, Mass
    Posts
    460
    Most of the time all you need is yum clean all and yum update. That should fix it right up.
    Glenn
    Powered by Fedora

  4. #4
    Just Joined! VanHalenMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    49
    Ok I finally got around to trying what glennzo said (sorry it took so long)
    and I get this: (think its the same error)
    Code:
    Loaded plugins: refresh-packagekit
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "/usr/bin/yum", line 29, in <module>
        yummain.user_main(sys.argv[1:], exit_code=True)
      File "yummain.py", line 254, in user_main
        errcode = main(args)
      File "yummain.py", line 88, in main
        base.getOptionsConfig(args)
      File "cli.py", line 203, in getOptionsConfig
        self.plugins.run('args', args=args)
      File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/yum/plugins.py", line 170, in run
        raise ValueError('unknown slot name "%s"' % slotname)
    ValueError: unknown slot name "args"

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    4
    There's a section of the installation program that asks whether you want to choose the programs you want in your installation now or later through the package manager.

    The option to choose the programs to install now is an option on the bottom left-hand corner of the screen. Click that and you will be presented with the list of available packages. The option to install yum I think is in the 'Programming' section, or something like that. Then try again and remember to look at the man page for yum.

  6. #6
    Linux User glennzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Salem, Mass
    Posts
    460
    su
    <password>
    rm -rf /var/lib/rpm/__db*
    rpm -rebuilddb
    yum update
    Glenn
    Powered by Fedora

  7. #7
    Just Joined! VanHalenMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    49
    Quote Originally Posted by glennzo View Post
    su
    <password>
    rm -rf /var/lib/rpm/__db*
    rpm -rebuilddb
    yum update
    Same old error when I do yum update

  8. #8
    Just Joined! VanHalenMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    49
    *bump*
    Also. When I use the "Add/Remove software" program, I assume I have to have the installaction CDs/DVDs in? If so, is there a way I can do it without?

  9. #9
    Linux User glennzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Salem, Mass
    Posts
    460
    You don't need the installation disks. If the file/etc/yum.repos.d/packagekit-media.repo exists make sure it is disabled.
    Glenn
    Powered by Fedora

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    47
    Have you looked to see where the first 'yum' package you attempted to install is located.

    If you installed yum from a tarball, and ran configure,make,make install kind of stuff, by default, yum would likely be installed into the /usr/local/ directory tree. (/usr/local/bin, /usr/local/lib, etc..) By default, /usr/local/bin and /usr/local/sbin appear in your $PATH environment var before /usr/bin and /usr/sbin, so, even though you have since installed yum via a rpm, your system may still be finding the manually installed yum command in /usr/local/bin/ first.

    Use 'which yum' to see where the default yum command lives.

    If you still have the yum build tree you used, you can try running 'make uninstall' within that tree to remove the /usr/local version.
    Otherwise, you can move yum commands in /usr/local/bin to another location.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •