Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
In Fedora 12 Network Configuration tool the Activate and Deactivate buttons are disabled. I thought that this was due to Network Manager overriding it but I've disabled that in order ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5

    Activate and Deactivate disabled in Network Configuration


    In Fedora 12 Network Configuration tool the Activate and Deactivate buttons are disabled.
    I thought that this was due to Network Manager overriding it but I've disabled that in order to set a static ip but the buttons are still disabled.
    How do I fix this?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,672
    Sounds like you have root only privs set. A quick search of GOOGLE should get you the answer on how to set the privs so normal users can turn UP or DOWN the interfaces.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5
    Don't think that's the case as I have to enter the root password to access the utility.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,672
    That is correct because a normal user cannot execute the program you need to input the root password. By changing who is allowed to execute the program root password will no longer be required.

    another thing you can look into is SUDO privs.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5

    Still no go

    Even if I launch /usr/bin/system-config-network as root, the buttons are still disabled.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1
    Just for future reference.

    If 'Controlled by NetworkManager' is checked those buttons are disabled.
    Select the device, click "Edit" you should see it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •