Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hi, Im using RHEL 4.2, here in bios level onboard network port is detecting. But when trying to fetch that network port i cant able to connect internet. when i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    17

    Unhappy Onboard network port not working


    Hi,

    Im using RHEL 4.2, here in bios level onboard network port is detecting. But when trying to fetch that network port i cant able to connect internet. when i put ifconfig eth1 the port is not available in onboard. Any solution for this,.,??.

    thanks,
    vasanth

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    How many network ports on this system?
    What is the output of:

    Code:
    lspci | grep -i ethernet
    What is in the files:

    /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
    /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth1

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    17
    insmod: error inserting 'e1000.ko': -1 Invalid module format

    im getting the above error whem in try to use insmod command to insert the module....

    thanks,
    vasanth

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,760
    1) The insmod command is used by kernel versions 2.4.X. RHEL4 is a 2.6 kernel. Google: how to load module linux 2.6.

    Code:
    man modprobe
    2) You didn't provide any information Lazydog requested.

    3) Unless you added this NIC *after* installing RHEL, it's unlikely the default e1000 driver is going to work. RHEL4 is older. There are many revisions of the e1000 driver and if the NIC is in a newer machine, it probably needs a newer version of the driver.

    See Lazydog's post above (lspci command) to identify the NIC and then visit Intel's site for the latest driver code (which will likely need to be compiled.)

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    17
    Result for : lspci | grep -i ethernet

    05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation Enterprise Southbridge DPT LAN Copper (rev 01)
    05:00.1 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation Enterprise Southbridge DPT LAN Copper (rev 01)
    09:0d.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8169 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 10)

    ifcfg-eth0 contains,

    # Please read /usr/share/doc/initscripts-*/sysconfig.txt
    # for the documentation of these parameters.
    IPV6INIT=no
    ONBOOT=yes
    USERCTL=no
    PEERDNS=yes
    TYPE=Ethernet
    DEVICE=eth0
    NETMASK=255.255.0.0
    IPADDR=172.19.0.25
    GATEWAY=172.19.0.1
    BOOTPROTO=none

    there is no ifcfg-eth1 in the location of /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts

    thanks,
    vasanth

  7. #6
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    OK, you have 3 interfaces. Which one is being activated when you boot?

    Can you also give the output from the following:

    ifconfig
    cat /proc/net/arp

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    17

    Unhappy

    hi,
    for ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:18:E7:17:26:36
    inet addr:172.19.0.25 Bcast:172.19.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::218:e7ff:fe17:2636/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:857744 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:711852 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:65848647 (62.7 MiB) TX bytes:76667409 (73.1 MiB)
    Interrupt:169 Base address:0x4000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:3276 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:3276 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:3561971 (3.3 MiB) TX bytes:3561971 (3.3 MiB)

    For,

    cat /proc/net/arp
    IP address HW type Flags HW address Mask Device
    17x.19.0.xx 0x1 0x2 00:11:11:50: DC:BC * eth0
    17x.19.0.x 0x1 0x2 00:1D:7E:E6:09:EF * eth0

    thanks,
    vasanth

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    17
    make -C /lib/modules/2.6.9-22.ELsmp/build SUBDIRS=/usr/local/src/e1000/e1000-7.2.7/src modules
    make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/kernels/2.6.9-22.EL-smp-i686'
    Building modules, stage 2.
    MODPOST
    Warning: could not find versions for .tmp_versions/e1000.mod
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/kernels/2.6.9-22.EL-smp-i686'
    # remove all old versions of the driver
    find /lib/modules/2.6.9-22.ELsmp -name e1000.ko -exec rm -f {} \; || true
    find /lib/modules/2.6.9-22.ELsmp -name e1000.ko.gz -exec rm -f {} \; || true
    install -D -m 644 e1000.ko /lib/modules/2.6.9-22.ELsmp/kernel/drivers/net/e1000/e1000.ko
    /sbin/depmod -a || true
    install -D -m 644 e1000.7.gz /usr/share/man/man7/e1000.7.gz
    man -c -P'cat > /dev/null' e1000 || true
    Formatting page, please wait...

    im getting the error while make install....

    Thanks,
    vasanth

  10. #9
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    Quote Originally Posted by vaskbtech View Post
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:18:E7:17:26:36
    17x.19.0.xx 0x1 0x2 00:11:11:50: DC:BC * eth0
    17x.19.0.x 0x1 0x2 00:1D:7E:E6:09:EF * eth0
    I'm seeing 3 different MAC addresses here. So we need to edit your ifcfg-eth0 file and add a MAC setting to it so it will bind to the interface you want. L8ine line you should add is;

    Code:
    HWADDR=00:90:27:8B:EA:CB
    Replacing the HW Addres I have above with one of the 3 you have given.

    Then shutdown the interface and start it again. Check connection and repeat if necessary.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •