Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hi guys/gals.. I have installed fedora core 3 and im having trouble mounting a NTFS partiton. I know Core 3 does not support NTFS and you have to download the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2

    Fedora Core 3 and NTFS mount problem


    Hi guys/gals..

    I have installed fedora core 3 and im having trouble mounting a NTFS partiton.

    I know Core 3 does not support NTFS and you have to download the rpms to do so.

    I have done this and it says that the rpm has been installed. However when I go to mount the NTFS partition i get a error returned stating that NTFS is not supported,,, any ideas?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    you need to recompile the kernel with NTFS support

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    59
    nossir -- there is no need to recompile the kernel in fc3 (or fc2) to get ntfs support.

    search google for "ntfs-linux" and you will find the site where you can download the rpm for your kernel and machine type. Be specific. This site says it's not maintained, but all the new kernels for fc3 are there (as of last week)

    For example, kernel-2.6.9-*686 for your cool-ass 686 (or athlon) machine.

    Make sure you download the correct one for your system. Install it. If you would like your NTFS partition to be available at boot -- make an entry in /etc/fstab. Example:

    /dev/hdb1 /mnt/windows ntfs umask=0,nls=iso8859-1,ro 0 0

    Of course, you will need to make a directory (folder) for this in your /mnt directory first.

    If you don't need it at boot (updatedb takes forever when I have my ancillary drives mounted) then leave fstab alone and manually mount it when you need it.

    terminal:
    su
    pwd
    cd /mnt
    mkdir windows (or whatever)
    mount /dev/hdb1 -t ntfs /mnt/windows

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552
    fstab :
    Device : Mountpoint: FS: Options:
    /dev/hda10 /mnt/hd3 ntfs users,ro,umask=0222 0 0

    Download rpm module : http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/rpm/fedora3.html

    Open an terminal:
    Su -
    install the rpm (man rpm)
    edit your fstab (Use above as an example)
    Save the fstab
    type : mount -a
    this will mount everything listed in the fstab

    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Houston Texas
    Posts
    192
    m3zzr, you need to
    Code:
    modprobe
    after you install the ntfs driver so it can be pick up by the system. After you can use
    Code:
    lsmod
    to check if the driver is enable. If ntfs is listed, then you can do things other people has mentioned.

  7. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    /dev/random
    Posts
    404
    If you install the RPM, you don't have to explicitly call modprobe.
    It will automatically be loaded when you try to mount (either by mount -t ntfs ... command explicitly or by adding an entry in fstab)
    The Unforgiven
    Registered Linux User #358564

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie imdeemvp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    225
    If you follow the instructions ginen in the previous link it show work I did not need to recompile the kernel.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1
    Hi!
    Can somebody please post link where I can download Fedora 3 AMD RPM? I went to sourceforge and couldn't find it for AMD's processors.

    Thanks

  10. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,120
    Quote Originally Posted by Torras
    Hi!
    Can somebody please post link where I can download Fedora 3 AMD RPM? I went to sourceforge and couldn't find it for AMD's processors.

    Thanks
    32 bit:
    http://dag.wieers.com/packages/kernel-module-ntfs/
    64 bit: (AMD 64)
    http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/rpm/contrib.html

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •