Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
HI, i just purchased a dell vostro 3750, when i try to install fedora 15 x64, it hangs with "waiting for hardware to initialize" message, i've tried to add nomodeset ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy Fedora 15 vostro 3750 "waiting for hardware to initialize"


    HI, i just purchased a dell vostro 3750, when i try to install fedora 15 x64, it hangs with "waiting for hardware to initialize" message, i've tried to add nomodeset but it doesn't work, i would apreciate some help!. If you can be detailed with the answer it would be great.

    Regards !

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,393
    Unfortunately, the Vostro uses a dual video gpu setup, and intel and an nvidia chip set, configured so that it uses the nvidia for graphics-intensive tasks, and the intel otherwise to conserve battery power. I have heard of people having problems installing Linux on these configurations. What does Dell say? Do they have any Linux support or recommendations for these systems?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  3. #3
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,393
    I just looked on the Dell web site, and the only vostros that they specifically support Linux on are the v130, the 1014, and the 1015. All of these have a single GPU...
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    4

    Thanks !

    Quote Originally Posted by Rubberman View Post
    I just looked on the Dell web site, and the only vostros that they specifically support Linux on are the v130, the 1014, and the 1015. All of these have a single GPU...
    Damn....

    i'll search for some solution or i'll wait for it. Thanks, any way !

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    4
    At least, could you tell me if i'm doing it in the right way?
    i use a dvd to install, but here is my doubt:
    - whem the boot menu comes out, what do i do?
    -i press tab in order to get : vmlinuz ...... , there is where i add nomodeset at the end without anything more

    am i doing it right? Thanks in advance !

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    3
    If you encounter this problem - just unplug all usb devices on boot, even the mouse!

    For using hybrid-graphics after installing Fedora install nvidia drivers and bumblebee:

    # yum install kmod-nvidia-PAE dmidecode mesa-libGL-devel kernel-PAE-devel
    # yum groupinstall 'Development Tools'
    # yum remove VirtualGL

    git clone github.com/MrMEEE/bumblebee.git
    cd bumblebee
    # -E ./install.sh
    Replace xorg.conf: xorg.conf.zip

    And # reboot

    ps. for fedora RFRemix need replace "grep -nir fedora" to "grep -nir rfremix" in bumblebee/stages/determinedistro

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    4
    thanks in advance, i'm gonna try this out and i'll comment

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    3
    I do not know how to solve the problem, I have to pull out the usb-hub every turn on the computer...

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    3
    It seems to me, system is not loaded when you connect devices to port usb3.0, with usb2.0 everything works fine.

    111.jpg

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •