Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey people, I am new to Linux platform and have installed RHEL 6 on my computer. I have gone through different posts on websites regarding how to mount windows drive ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unhappy Help Required in Mounting of NTFS filesystem on RHEL6

Hey people,

I am new to Linux platform and have installed RHEL 6 on my computer. I have gone through different posts on websites regarding how to mount windows drive on to the Linux file system.
    Here are few results of my trial where results are slightly overwhelming for a guy like me:

1. Mounting NTFS file system using mount commandAs a su-)
    " $mount -t ntfs /dev/sda1 /media/MyFilesystem"

Output: error: unrecognised file system ntfs

2. I followed step by step instructions of installing Fuse and ntfs-3g_ntfsprogs but had no luck:

while using this command for the installation of for FUSE-0.9(which I guess prepares files for installation) I am getting this error :
    " Command use: ./configure --exec-prefix=/; make;make install"
    Error: "Checking Kernel source directory.../usr.src/kernels/2.6.32-71.e16.x86_64...Checking Kernel source version.......Not found "
    Configure error: cannot determine the version of the Linux kernel source.Please configure the kernel before running this script.

Woooh , as u can see my Linux version is mentioned in that message so can anyone lemme know whether this issue is because of the incompatibility of Fuse with my version of Linux or am I suppose to make some changes in the command itself.

Any help on this issue would be appreciated and if someone can help me in understanding what exactly is going then that would make my life a lot easier.

Thanks in advance !

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.