Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
my objective is to configure RPS and RFS ..i upgrade latest kernel ...now i want to edit entry in /sys/class/net/eth0/queues/rx-0/rps_cpus BUT my system is not display /sys/ folder. in /proc/ ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    26

    my system not display /sys/ folder


    my objective is to configure RPS and RFS ..i upgrade latest kernel ...now i want to edit entry in /sys/class/net/eth0/queues/rx-0/rps_cpus

    BUT my system is not display /sys/ folder.
    in /proc/ folder sys is available but its not contain class,queues folder.

    please provide me the solution...urgent

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,383
    Did you enable the sys fs in the pseudo filesystem section while you were configuring your custom kernel?
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    26
    no sir i just simply run make menuconfig make , make install and go to ahead step...

    please tell me how to enable pseudo filesystem ????

  4. #4
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,383
    make menuconfig should provide you with an ncurses menu, that you can use to traverse the various sections.

    rps/rfs is available since 2.6.35.
    What distribution and version are you running?
    Fedora 15 already features 2.6.38.
    (Although I would understand to use a more server orientated distribution for production purposes)
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    26
    sir i have rhel 7.5 ...current now i have 2.6.18 kernel ...
    now what i have done take one ubuntu machine and compile kernel 2.6.39.2 ..its successfully done ...and also upgrade in my rhel 7.5 machin ...that also done successfully.
    when i type uname -a its display 2.6.39.2 kernel in rhel 7.5 ...
    but when i try to do RFS and RPS configuration than its not showing /sys/ folder..

    in earlier post you talk about pseudo file system
    i have check in file .config file
    only blow entry is done for pseudo filesystem

    #
    # Pseudo filesystems
    #
    CONFIG_PROC_FS=y
    CONFIG_PROC_KCORE=y
    CONFIG_SYSFS=y
    CONFIG_TMPFS=y
    # CONFIG_HUGETLBFS is not set
    # CONFIG_HUGETLB_PAGE is not set
    CONFIG_RAMFS=y
    # CONFIG_CONFIGFS_FS is not set



    sir please give me solution how i enable rps for this ...and the shocking thing is this its show the RFS configuration in /proc/sys/net/core/rps_sock_flow_entries but its not display RPS configuration which is in /sys/class/net/eth0/queues/rx-0/rps_cpus....their is no folder like class , queues ,rx-0 and file rps_cpus
    please help me

    Thank you.

  6. #6
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,383
    There is no rh 7.5, the latest is 6.1

    I can only guess, as I didnt play with it yet.
    Maybe there is an option in make menuconfig to enable the export to /sys?
    Maybe you compiled it as a module, and now need to modprobe this module?
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    26
    sir i have not compile as a module because in .config file its display as 'y' not as a 'm'

    #
    # Pseudo filesystems
    #
    CONFIG_PROC_FS=y
    CONFIG_PROC_KCORE=y
    CONFIG_SYSFS=y
    CONFIG_TMPFS=y
    # CONFIG_HUGETLBFS is not set
    # CONFIG_HUGETLB_PAGE is not set
    CONFIG_RAMFS=y
    # CONFIG_CONFIGFS_FS is not set

  8. #8
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,383
    Probably some option in kernelconfig is missing/not set.
    It may be worth a try to use the standard redhat kernelconfig in your new one with make oldconfig.
    (and sort out the conflicts)


    As I said, I can only guess from here on.
    So hopefully s/o else with experience on RPS/RFS can jump in.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    26
    Sir Its may be problem of mounting folder....
    you know any thing about /etc/fstab or any idea about mounting /sys/ folder

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •