Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Greetings! Not a linux expert. Have : Linux localhost.localdomain 2.6.18-238.12.1.el5 #1 SMP Tue May 31 13:23:01 EDT 2011 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux I allocated 4Gb but free -m: total used ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10

    My Centos 5,2 is using only 3GB out of 4, please help


    Greetings!
    Not a linux expert.
    Have : Linux localhost.localdomain 2.6.18-238.12.1.el5 #1 SMP Tue May 31 13:23:01 EDT 2011 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

    I allocated 4Gb but free -m:
    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 3034 783 2250 0 226 382

    I installed PAE:

    yum install kernel-PAE

    reboot

    but still have the same result of free -m.

    Any help will be appreciated!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,746
    Generally a PAE kernel will say PAE - 2.6.18-238.12.1.el5 - does not. If this uname from after rebooting?

    The hardware must also support PAE - you may need to look at your motherboard/CPU documentation.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10
    yes uname after PAE. I run this as vm on vmware.
    [oracle@localhost ~]$ grep flags /proc/cpuinfo
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc ida nonstop_tsc arat pni ssse3 cx16 sse4_1 sse4_2 popcnt lahf_lm [8]
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc ida nonstop_tsc arat pni ssse3 cx16 sse4_1 sse4_2 popcnt lahf_lm [8]
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc ida nonstop_tsc arat pni ssse3 cx16 sse4_1 sse4_2 popcnt lahf_lm [8]
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc ida nonstop_tsc arat pni ssse3 cx16 sse4_1 sse4_2 popcnt lahf_lm [8]

  4. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,746
    I run this as vm on vmware
    That didn't seem important to note in your FIRST post? You can Google for YOUR VMware product (there are several and you still didn't say which) and if/how PAE support is available.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10
    Thank you. I could not find anything related to the specific VMplayer problem with PAE on google.
    I run it on vmware player 3.1.4. I noticed, that even free shows that only 3GB is being used (4GB was allocated to the VM) - the performance is much better IF 4GB rather than 3GB allocated to the VM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •