Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Did anyone notice the weird package installing method. I had to change between CDs 1,2,3 and back between 1 and 2 like 50 times.......
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    208

    Weird package installing...


    Did anyone notice the weird package installing method. I had to change between CDs 1,2,3 and back between 1 and 2 like 50 times....

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Windsor, CO
    Posts
    656
    I use the DVD-installer, so I wouldn't know. If you can burn DVDs, always get the DVD-iso image. So much more convienent than than 4 CDs.
    Try the media check at the beginning of setup if you haven't already, maybe the CDs weren't burned right.
    Emotions are the key to the soul.
    Registered Linux User #375050

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie rat007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Brno
    Posts
    230
    Happens to me too when I need to add some software from CD. It's so anoying that I prefer to download it from internet via yum than keep changing CDs

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    208
    On a clean install of Fedora Core 2, or Core 3 I custom install the 6 FULL following categories only:

    1. X Window System
    2. Gnome
    3. KDE

    4. Administration Tools
    5. System Tools
    6. Printing Support

    (select ALL options within each).

    After rebooting and seeing my Fedora Core 2 (or 3) is perfectly working order, then I start Adding more applications - like Editors, Multimedia, Office, Development stuff. I have noticed this pattern of for-ever switching/swapping CDs:

    It starts off with CDs 1,2,1,2,1,2,1,2,1,2,1,2,1,2,1,2,3,2,3,2,3,2,3,2,3, 2,3,1,3,1,3,1,3,1,2,1,3,1,3,2,3,2,3,1,2,1,2,12,1,2 1

    don't worry, I kept at this most annoying CD swaping business.. and it does eventually finish.

    Fedora Bugzilla is down. Please can someone make sure this weird annoying bug gets posted/known to Fedora.

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    17
    Uhhh, I did not have to swap cd's that much-only 2 or 3 times between cd 2&3.

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie rat007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Brno
    Posts
    230
    Quote Originally Posted by kevingpo
    It starts off with CDs 1,2,1,2,1,2,1,2,1,2,1,2,1,2,1,2,3,2,3,2,3,2,3,2,3, 2,3,1,3,1,3,1,3,1,2,1,3,1,3,2,3,2,3,1,2,1,2,12,1,2 1
    Wow, that's crazy. I'm calm person but I wouldn't survive this

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    208
    Quote Originally Posted by rat007
    Quote Originally Posted by kevingpo
    It starts off with CDs 1,2,1,2,1,2,1,2,1,2,1,2,1,2,1,2,3,2,3,2,3,2,3,2,3, 2,3,1,3,1,3,1,3,1,2,1,3,1,3,2,3,2,3,1,2,1,2,12,1,2 1
    Wow, that's crazy. I'm calm person but I wouldn't survive this
    Someone needs to notify FC dev team about this!!!

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    7
    Well I just reinstalled and didn't have to swap the CD's any times extra :S

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    208
    Quote Originally Posted by putku
    Well I just reinstalled and didn't have to swap the CD's any times extra :S
    Remove the entire Development Tools (uncheck it). Accept. Let it do it's work. Now add it again. Best doing it with lots of packages, throw in some SQL Servers, Mail Servers, Test Editors, etc.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •