Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I have installed the Java rpm for 64 bit. I have tried re installing it and it says its already installed but it doesn't not show up in my plugins ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    34

    Java not working for Linux Red Hat 64bit


    I have installed the Java rpm for 64 bit. I have tried re installing it and it says its already installed but it doesn't not show up in my plugins on firefox.

    Then when I run something that requires Java it says java is required. I am very new to linux and I am not sure what to do

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,664
    Which java version did you install? Best results on RHEL 6 is to install the java-1.6.0-openjdk.x86_64 package.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    84
    '$> yum install icedtea-web' and restart browser.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    34
    I tried this link and still nothing...not sure whats going on

    wiki.centos.org/HowTos/JavaRuntimeEnvironment

    Nothing is still showing up in my plugins for firefox

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    84
    Have you installed IcedTea-Web? In firefox you can check wether icedtea-web plugin is installed: Tools => add-ons => plugins?
    When it isn't installed you can install it with yum. Commando: '$> yum install icedtea-web' (as root)

    When you are sure that it is installed:
    • Do you have 'libjavaplugin.so' in directory '/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins' and is it a link to '/etc/alternatives/libjavaplugin.so' what should be a link to '/usr/lib/jvm/jre-1.6.0-openjdk/lib/i386/IcedTeaPlugin.so'?
    • Or do you only have 'libjavaplugin_oji.so' in '/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins'?

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    LongIsland NY
    Posts
    1
    Make sure you fully remove the version of java you previously installed also. yum remove -y

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •