Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Question Huawei E583C not finding pin - heeelllppp (Fedora15 Gnome3)

I am a total newbie to linux and my husband handed the connection prob with the modem to me. I have installed usb_modeswitch and your program - after I found the can't read font fix, I thought I was set. But first had a prob with it not detecting GSM so I did noprobe - now it flashes a small screen saying "Modem responded ERROR while checking for pin". Then next box is" Failed connection". We don't have a pin with our modem. ( Even if it gave me an option of putting it in). And the modem works fine on windows but my husbands main program is linux.

TY in advance,

Update - after reading more I created a sakis3g.log here is a copy -

Second update - After scouring the Internet more I tried to run it with shorewall disabled. Same error. I am also starting with noprobe, nostorage, interactive, and zenity

Hope this helps you more than it did me lol And TG for dos if I hadn't messed with it quite a bit I would have been at a total loss when hubby turned this over to me Smiley

After spending 2 5hr stints on this I have learned heaps but not how to fix problem yet. I swear my husband better take me somewhere nice for dinner when I finish this! Grin

Update - I have run and rechecked usb_modeswitch it is being seen as a modem as opposed to a mass storage device. So thats not the prob. ( time spent 1 5 hr stint and so far another 8 hrs). Shocked

Update - After a total of 13 hrs today I am throwing my hands up in the air and hoping someone here can help me out of my linux hole! Sad

Ok did one more thing - am totally unsure if the usbmodeswitch worked because of this line in the log -
    331 bInterfaceClass 8 Mass Storage

This is what I did -

To make it switch from the "storage" to "modem" mode you need the utility "usb_modeswitch".