Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
I have been using Linux for about two weeks. I installed Red Hat Enterprise Linux WS (v. 4.0 for x86). Every thing has been great until now. What’s wrong: Previously ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    6

    X windows not working right (no windows or graphics display, only back


    I have been using Linux for about two weeks. I installed Red Hat Enterprise Linux WS (v. 4.0 for x86). Every thing has been great until now.

    What’s wrong:
    Previously Redhat would display a graphical status bar and then take me to the graphical login screen. Now I get no graphical any thing (status bar login screen, no windows of any kind). When the normal login screen would appear all I get is a blue screen. This is the normal background for my login.

    What can I do to get it to work again.

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    So when it is done booting, are you at a console login, or at a "blue screen" where you can't log in, or what?

    Did you install anything in these two weeks, or muck with the bootloader config file (/etc/grub.conf)?

    If you can log in, show the contents of this command:
    Code:
    cat /proc/cmdline
    I'm not sure if that fade-in bar is provided by the rhgb package or what, but try this command, to check on the status of that package:
    Code:
    rpm -qV rhgb

  3. #3
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,397
    How did you shut down the system just before this problem occurred?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    6
    I used command rpm -qV rhgb, i looked at the status of that package no problem.
    can I recofigure Xorg.conf?

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    6
    I used shutdown command in console to shut down the system.

  6. #6
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Have you tried using
    Code:
    system-config-display
    Or, if you are unable to install that package:
    Code:
    Xorg :1 -configure
    That should create the file /root/xorg.conf.new (a default xorg file), which you can copy to /etc/X11/xorg.conf.

    Then you can make all needed changes.

    Hope that helps.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  7. #7
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Also, show the contents of these files:

    /etc/grub.conf (or /boot/grub/grub.conf if the other is not found)

    /etc/inittab

    The first will tell what kernel arguments are passed at boot time (as will the 'cat /proc/cmdline' command I suggested earlier), and the second will tell your default runlevel (for RH, 3 = text-only/console and 5 = GUI).

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    6
    Now, I have a problem following:

    I used SSh shell to connect server.
    After I used system-config-display command, then display screen was:
    [root@oracle ~]# system-config-display
    Trying with card: ATI ES1

    How will i do next?

  9. #9
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Are you still trying to configure X/GUI on this box? If so, in order to do that you should be directly connected to it (Monitor and keyboard, etc.) and not by remotely logging in (via ssh or whatever).

    The system-config-display command is only useful once you have a partially working X windows environment up. You'd be better off with the "X -configure" command, which will create your initial xorg.conf file.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    6
    When I try using "X -configure" command, the display screen is:

    Fatal server error:
    Server is already active for display 0
    If this server is no longer running, remove /tmp/.X0-lock
    and start again.


    Please consult the The X.Org Foundation support
    at
    for help.


    So, what i do next?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •