Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
hiii I have downloaded one of the driver installer for my fedora. ( nvidia ) I had tried to install through " init 3 " mode. Now i am prompt ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    34

    Post basic steps on install Nvidia .run driver file ?


    hiii

    I have downloaded one of the driver installer for my fedora. ( nvidia )

    I had tried to install through " init 3 " mode.

    Now i am prompt with this error >>>>>

    Unable to find the kernel source tree for the currently running kernel


    My current kernel version is >>> 2.6. . .. . . 6.45 . . ..f14

    What I understood is that I need to download kernel source for my current version and place it in /usr/src . . .

    but when i try to run >>>> yum install kernek-devel >>>>>>>>>>> it gives me option to upgrade kernel to version 2.6......13.92...f14

    I think after the above command, the kernel source will be placed in /usr/src . .

    And now since my installed kernel is different and my source different, it wont work either.


    I NEED TO KNOW WHAT ARE THE BASIC STEPS FOR INSTALLING NVIDIA DRIVERS --------------------------------------ANEONE ?

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Update your system first and foremost.
    After that completes then you need to install kernel-devel and kernel-headers, now the installer should work.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    34
    ^^ that did the trick for installing my drivers. . .

    but now i am stuck @ 640 x 480 resolution.

    How can i restore back to my normal resolution ?

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    If you are in GUI mode there should be a program where you can set the setting under your setting tab.
    If you are running init3 or CLI then there was no reason to install the driver. But that can be set using the vga= line in your grub configuration.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    34
    ^^ the default program in fedora does not allow me to go beyond mentioned resolution.
    I tried to add " section Files " in my xorg.conf file and changing dcmp option.

    any alternative ?

  6. #6
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    What is the "default program"? Anyway, what is your monitor make/model? When I've had problems with display res before that the GNOME display tool could not fix, I had to put accurate HorizSync and VertRefresh parameters in my xorg.conf.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    There should be a NVIDIA X Server Settings under the Settings listing.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    34
    ^^ yes there is NVIDIA settings but it don't seems to be working for me.

    command >> cvt 1400 x 900 returns modline but i dont know what to do after that ?

    how to get detailed info about hsync, vsync, rfresh rate etc of LCD that should be used? ( optimized settings )

    where to add that modline and if it won't work, then wats da alternative ?

    TIA

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •