Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hi, How will we ensure dhcp server to have different ip series for different department. Example:-- operation department gets different ip range and HR department gets different. Like 10 to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    7

    Dhcp server with different IP series for different dept.


    Hi,

    How will we ensure dhcp server to have different ip series for different department.

    Example:-- operation department gets different ip range and HR department gets different. Like 10 to 50 ip goes to ops dept and 51 100 goes to HR dept.

    please help!!

    Regards
    Gulam Navi

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie BoDiddley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Plainfield, New Jersey
    Posts
    137
    That seems to defeat the intent of DHCP. Why not use non-valid ip network (such as 10.81.1.0 - 255) internally,picking-up a single valid IP addr at the gateway, and manually assign ip addresses at each device?

    You are defeating yourself - in my opinion, to desire such a configuration.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    Can be done but you will need to use the MAC addresses of the machines to set it up this way. Then in your DHCP.CONF file you would need to do something like this;

    Code:
            host a {
                    hardware ethernet xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;
                    fixed-address 192.168.1.10;
            }
            host b {
                    hardware ethernet xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;
                    fixed-address 192.168.1.51;
            }
    A lot of work if you ask me.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    14
    What you would need would be some software to help you manage dhcp. You should check the infoblox IP management software. I think it'll do what you need.

  5. #5
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,392
    Actually, this sounds like a radius job.
    RADIUS - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    Because in effect you want access control based on people, not actually machines?
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by BoDiddley View Post
    That seems to defeat the intent of DHCP. Why not use non-valid ip network (such as 10.81.1.0 - 255) internally,picking-up a single valid IP addr at the gateway, and manually assign ip addresses at each device?

    You are defeating yourself - in my opinion, to desire such a configuration.


    Hi,

    greetings for the day.
    Actually this question has asked by some one interviewer and I did not gave the answer. Please suggest some way to configure dhcp server because we cannot bind the MAC addresses for many number of machines.


    Regards
    Gulam navi

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    7
    Hi,

    Greetings for the day.
    Thanks for your response. This is done only if there are less number of machines but what incase of large numbers of machines. Please suggest.

    regards
    Gulam Navi

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •