Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi ,everyone I am new to linux world. I had built up two linux server , one FC15 ,and other is RHEL 6, these two machines are in the same ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question vncviewer--unable connect to socket: No route to host (113)

Hi ,everyone

I am new to linux world.
    I had built up two linux server , one FC15 ,and other is RHEL 6, these two machines are in the same subnet.

I can SSH to FC 15 with no problem ,but vncviewer ,i type the FC15's IP ,and they ,i got the error "vncviewer--unable connect to socket: No route to host (113)" ,why ?

On FC15, i had enabled Remote Desktop , and created a VNC configuration file.

Thanks

Just Joined!
    Firewall? Try telneting to the VNC port on the FC15 box or nmap the FC15 box from the RHEL6 box and see if the port is open. If it's not, try checking out the iptables config on the RHEL6 box.

Just Joined!

Smile Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by nilocj-d View Post
    Firewall? Try telneting to the VNC port on the FC15 box or nmap the FC15 box from the RHEL6 box and see if the port is open. If it's not, try checking out the iptables config on the RHEL6 box.
    i do a iptables -F ,and then problem resolved

By the way ,another question. Don't know why vsftpd service can't start

i do a "/etc/init.d/vsftpd start -->500 OOPS cannot read the config file: start

but the vsftpd.conf file exist under /etc/vsftpd/ folder and i tired this
    "chkconfig --level 35 vsftpd on
    service vsftpd start"

still fail to start the service

How to resolve this problem

thanks

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    Word of warning - iptables -F flushes all rules. Depending on the default chain policies (which I'm assuming are set to accept as you can now connect), that could leave you boxes wide open.